Fan Fart Friday! Super battle droid smells the roses

Yes, you read that right.

We have a whiteboard in our house where every week prior to this first Friday, I will write “FAF!” I do this to remind myself that I need to color our monthly piece, otherwise I’ll completely forget.

Every month, my husband asks, “What’s FAF?” And every month, I say, “Fan Art Friday…where I have to color in the Star Wars coloring book and do the same picture that Mei-Mei (the blogger friend I’ve never met) does and we compare/contrast.” And every month he goes, “Oh, right okay,” and then forgets by the next month where we do this whole exchange once more.

Two days ago, I looked at our whiteboard and found some new wording:

I rolled my eyes but then I couldn’t stop giggling. So now I can’t get Fan Fart Friday out of my head. I may be forever scarred/changed by this.

This month’s picture was chosen by Yours Truly because whenever I passed by it, I thought it had to be some sort of huge joke by the editors/artists/authors. In my mind, Lucasfilm had a survey that said, “We are creating a Star Wars coloring book to jump on the adult coloring craze. Please cast your votes on what you’d like to see in it.”

And some doofus thought it would be hilarious to have a Super Battle Droid surrounded by roses. Little did they know that LFL would actually approve this picture!

(Okay, I know that’s probably not how it went at all, but in my head, that’s what happened)

So here it is! What a strange, obscure picture. I’m really neutral on this, other than I think it’s hilarious. It reminds me of the book, The Story of Ferdinand. I read it when I was a child and it was about a bull that did not want to be in the ring, but instead, outside smelling the flowers. That’s what this Super Battle Droid wants to do as well…sit and smell the roses, not kill people!

Don’t forget to check out Mei-Mei’s rendition as well, once it’s up. Not sure if we’ll be doing another one any time soon just because Mei-Mei’s little boy is due at the end of the month! Make sure to congratulate her. We’ll see if she ever wants to return to this world of coloring.

Happy Fan Fart Friday!

 

3 thoughts on “Fan Fart Friday! Super battle droid smells the roses

  1. Pingback: Fan Art Friday: Beautiful Battle Droid – Jedi by Knight

  2. I LOVE Ferdinand the Super Battle Droid! He has a backstory now haha. I really like your color choices this for this picture; I feel like ours were similar but different enough to be interesting. My favorite part is the way you did the rose petals in different shades/colors, and the red part behind the droid.

    I tried to pick a simple one for next month so I could do it ahead of time haha. I hope I won’t have to take a break, because I think the coloring will be good for me to destress during the first newborn weeks.

    • I actually enjoyed it for the most part! It got harder when I started working again but there was this weird stage when she was 4-6 weeks and I could no longer nap at will and she’d be sleeping away and I was bored. I colored then.

Use Your Comlink...

