Fan Art Friday! Boba + Jango

Welcome back to Fan Art Friday, where Mei-Mei and I color the same image every month and compare whose is better. Haha, just kidding, but seriously – sometimes there are clear winners.

 

This month, mine was not a winner. Don’t get me wrong – I don’t despise it. But I also think it could have been a lot better. I have gotten methodical about my coloring pieces lately. I’ll look at it and chew it over for a week or two and think about the color direction I want to go in. Some of me likes this, and some of me doesn’t. In the beginning I colored haphazardly so the drawings always came out a surprise – good and bad. Now, I’ll have an image in my head but sadly, it doesn’t always come out the way I imagine.

That is the case with this one. I thought it would be cool to have Boba in the center and Jango surrounding him, but I didn’t realize how much all the lines intersect and go all over the place until I started coloring with the blue. And then the more I tried to emphasize that it was Jango Fett and color more blue, the more the blue took over and that was not what I wanted. I made my classic mistake of trying to fix it by layering colors on top of it and that was the cherry on top and the picture fell flat for me.

Ah, well, there’s always next month’s to redeem myself. That said, Mei-Mei’s is absolutely amazing so you should definitely check hers out!

 

Next month, we’re going to be tackling a super battle droid surrounded by roses (yes, I know, strange).

2 thoughts on “Fan Art Friday! Boba + Jango

  1. I love that you did a combo of Jango and Boba! When I was starting, I wasn’t sure which the picture was supposed to be, so I just picked Boba because I like him better haha.

    I actually really like your color scheme of blue/green/orange. And I like that you tried different shading effects! My strategy recently has been to go with whatever first impression I had for the picture (usually a single thing I want in a specific color), and then just make it up bit by bit as I go from there. Definitely doesn’t always work out haha. But I’m such a planner, I feel like it’s a good exercise for me in letting go!

  2. Pingback: Fan Art Friday: Boba Fett Mandala – Jedi by Knight

Use Your Comlink...

