Haiku Me Friday! BB-8 Stole My Heart

The soccer ball droid Orange and white bouncing ball Emotions are clear

The soccer ball droid
Orange and white bouncing ball
Emotions are clear

Shout out to my favorite droid!

I felt a little guilty the day I realized BB-8 was my favorite droid, which in all honesty could’ve been when I saw the first TFA preview ever, way back on Thanksgiving of two years ago.   The way he was rolling along Jakku’s surface, a blur of orange on white, made me think, “A soccer ball droid!  So cute!”

But everyone loves Artoo!  Artoo is the fan favorite and I get it, but for some reason I never connected with him.  I think one of the main reasons is that Artoo was familiar to me by cultural context – I knew who he was before knowing who he was.  Just like I knew the quotes “I am your father”, Darth Vader, the Force and a few other Star Wars references before seeing the movies or becoming a big fan.  So though Artoo was cute, he was, well, Artoo Detoo.  Always there.

But BB-8 was a surprise for me.  A round droid?  How genius!  And then when I actually heard him for the first time in TFA, my heart stopped.  BB-8: we were meant to be!  I want my own BB-8 so badly.  I love how he portrays his emotions, especially when he thought Poe had died.  When he sees Poe is alive and goes to greet him – aggggghhhh I’m jealous!  I want BB-8 to greet me like that.  Oh and don’t even get into his flame thumbs up.  Melting heart…

I know you are all wondering now if I have the Sphero BB-8…I do not.  I’m not sure what I would do with it.  Plus, our dog Yogi would probably have a field day with it and BB-8 would quickly become BB-ate.

My husband did get me a BB-8 carry on last year for Christmas even before I saw TFA because I liked the droid so much.  I love my carry on!  He comes with me on every vacation and I love posting photos on Instagram saying “Come on BB-8!” just like Rey.  It’s the small pleasures in life, okay guys??  ARM also had an adorable BB-8 dress (and Darth Amethystos christened her Baby-8) but she’s too big for it now, alas.

Okay.  Done effusing about BB-8.  But tell me – who’s your favorite droid?  Let’s have a droid lovefest.

bb-8-peeking-out

4 thoughts on “Haiku Me Friday! BB-8 Stole My Heart

  1. I love BB-8, too! I was a little worried beforehand that he might be annoying, but he was perfect! The way he went down the stairs in Maz’s cantina was perfect.

    But my favorites are the “rogue droids,” like IG-88 or the assassin HK-47 from KOTOR. That’s why I have a feeling I’m going to love the snarky droid in Rogue One.

  2. Pingback: The Last Jedi Teaser Trailer and Speculations – Star Wars Anonymous

  3. Pingback: Haiku Me Friday! The soulful eyes – Star Wars Anonymous

Use Your Comlink...

