Rogue One is Around the Corner!

So.  Rogue One.  I haven’t talked about it a lot and I was a little skeptical when the first teaser trailer was released.  Since then, we’ve received two more legit trailers and I’m beginning to look more forward to it.  Actually, scratch that, I’m really looking forward to it!

I’m not sure what was with all the rumored re-shooting of it…the only thing I can think of is that Jyn no longer seems like she has an attitude and the trailers are not quite as dark.  Jyn seems more eager to jump into this Rebellion and help, whereas before she seemed to be portrayed as someone who might not be able to be trusted, someone the Rebellion was wary of.

It seems like once again in the Star Wars universe, the heart of Rogue One will be family.  Looks like Galen Erso is connected to the creation of the Death Star, either by helping significantly with the blueprint of it or specifically with the laser.  I find the laser theory more plausible because the Prequels point to the Geonosians being responsible for the actual mechanics of the Death Star.

The question remains though – why was Jyn’s father involved in the first place?  All he says is that he is doing it to protect her.  And on top of that, why would the Rebellion choose Jyn to lead the mission?  If anything, I would think she would be too effected by her feelings in the operation for them to trust her with something so significant.

So does she know something by being the daughter of Galen that no one else does?  Does she understand the Empire better than anyone else in the Rebellion?  We see her in a cell in the last trailer.  After seeing her father taken by the Empire, is she always on a mission to get him out?

An interesting theory was presented to me by my friend – does Vader give the plans to Krennic on purpose to allow him to lose them?  His theory was that Krennic is ambitious and after Vader’s rank in the Empire – or perhaps they are equals and Krennic wants to get ahead – so Vader purposefully allows him to screw up so that he can be “disposed of”.  I’m not sure I believe that.  I don’t know if it fits well with ANH where Vader was obsessed with the plans.  Unless we finally get to see Darth Vader making a mistake?  Nah…I still don’t like this theory because I don’t think Vader plays into this movie too much.  Kennedy said he would only come into the movie at a significant moment.

rogue-one-cast

Coming away from this trailer, I’m not wondering a lot about the plot like I did with the TFA trailers.  This seems pretty straight forward and the excitement of the movie will be in the journey, not so much the plot or end result.  We know the end result so I feel like Disney may have to try even harder to make it good and engaging.

By the way, I love the diversity of these characters!  At this point we’ve almost taken it for granted as we get subliminally used to seeing them and accepting them as part of the Star Wars universe.  It’s quite refreshing and I want to say groundbreaking but I’m not sure if that’s true yet.  We have a female lead who is Caucasian but every other supporting character in the Rogue One mission are of different nationalities.  I do love seeing both Rogue One and TFA with female leads though.

When looking at the movie posters, I was wondering if any of the Death Star blueprints that show on their faces have anything to do with specific parts of the mission.  For instance, it looks like Jyn and Cassian have similar blueprints on their face.  Baze and Chirrut also have a similar blueprint.  But Bodhi, 2-KSO, Saw, and Krennic all are different.  Krennic definitely has the laser part of the Death Star so that would play into the theory of him capturing Galen Erso to help with the laser.  Some of me feels like everything Disney does is for a very good reason and I don’t think they slapped on random blueprints.  I’m probably being a little too nitpicky about these posters, but that’s half the fun of being an obsessed fan!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Does anyone have theories on this without revealing spoilers?  I am not as spoiler-free for this movie (if anyone watched the live stream at Celebration Europe than a big one was dropped there by mistake) since we kind of know the plot and what happens anyway, but for respect of others – let’s keep it as spoiler-free as possible.

Good to be back, by the way!  Hoping to get in the groove of things again.  🙂

4 thoughts on “Rogue One is Around the Corner!

  1. I made a big mistake with TFA trailers, so I stopped watching or reading anything Rogue 1 related after the second trailer. I am super stoked for this movie and your insights have given me a lot to think about. Jyn’s dad being involved is new to me however.

    • Agh sorry thought that was common knowledge because there’s a book on it and the info came out a while ago. I know what you mean with the TFA trailers. My rule of thumb is that as soon as I start knowing too much plot just from trailers, I stop watching them.
      I guess I’m not as strict on that rule for this movie only because, like I mentioned, we know the end result and basic plot already.

  2. I don’t have much thinky thoughts to add about Rogue One per se, but I am overjoyed that my daughter will be able to enjoy movies and franchises like this that are finally invoking strong, female leads who don’t need a man to solve a problem.

Use Your Comlink...

