Fan Art Friday! My pencils need to be sharpened…

It’s the first Friday of the month and here we are with another Fan Art Friday…a wonderful time where Mei-Mei and I color the same picture – with completely different results.

I chose this month’s picture of Salacious B. Crumb because I love the character.  When I was younger, I found him to be so annoying that I could barely stand the sound of his laugh when I watched ROTJ.   As I transitioned into the “adult” working world, I began to see similarities between Salacious Crumb and those people who suck up to the higher ranks in the company just to be sure of their place.

In my first job out of college, there was a very slimy, sneaky man who I couldn’t stand who had the fakest smile and fakest voice.  He would come up to my desk and ask me to do something for him and when I told him I had no time, he would just stand there smiling…until it got super awkward and I would either a) cave and say okay, or b) he would walk away.  I soon learned that option b wasn’t too great because it would get me in trouble with my boss.  Whenever he was around the EVP or CEO though, he would be all laughs.  It was disgusting. You could hear the laugh so clearly from my desk and it would grate on me, like nails down a chalkboard.  I try not to hate anyone, but this guy came close to trying my patience (there are other reasons, but I won’t get into it here).   So I began to look at him as Salacious Crumb (he was short too!) and it helped me get through the day a bit better.

When I moved on from that company, I realized there are Salacious B. Crumb’s in every office.  There are always those that want to laugh at you on their way up and sit in the lap of the Jabba the Hutt’s laughing at their silly jokes.  But who knows, maybe if you wait long enough, they’ll get blown up in a sail barge and you won’t have to think about them anymore. 🙂

Salacious Crumb Star Wars coloring book

 

I realized as I was coloring this picture that I’ve become immune to a lot of parts of Star Wars, which makes me excited to watch it with ARM and future children.  For instance, Salacious Crumb is ugly.  Maybe I realized that during one of the first few times I watched Star Wars, but whoa, he’s not good looking at all.

Other than Salacious Crumb, the colors I chose for this were the colors that still had sharp points as pencils.  HAHA!  Hence my title…I need to go through and sharpen all the colored pencils again but I am so busy that I haven’t found the time.  Funnily, I think the way it came out was really interesting with the colors!  Maybe I need to stop taking myself so seriously when I do these coloring books. This one is much more lazy and haphazard than my others, but I think it’s really fun.  The only thing that’s funky is the picture I took makes his fur look red…whereas IRL I swear it’s a burnt brown color almost.

Next month we are doing Wicket!  Don’t forget to also check out Mei-Mei’s rendition of Crumb.

3 thoughts on “Fan Art Friday! My pencils need to be sharpened…

  1. Love the colors! Especially the pink/teal combo and the yellow/orange flowers. I need to sharpen some of my pencils now, too.

    You did a great job getting the eyes to be yellow–I tried but you can’t really see it in my picture.

    You always have the best stories relating Star Wars to real life. There are definitely Salacious Crumbs in every office!

  2. Pingback: Fan Art Friday: Salacious Crumb – Jedi by Knight

  3. “When I moved on from that company, I realized there are Salacious B. Crumb’s in every office. There are always those that want to laugh at you on their way up and sit in the lap of the Jabba the Hutt’s laughing at their silly jokes. But who knows, maybe if you wait long enough, they’ll get blown up in a sail barge and you won’t have to think about them anymore.”
    ^^^THIS! This made my day!

Use Your Comlink...

