Haiku Me Friday! R.I.P Geonosians

You guys know how much I love the Geonosian language.  Not so much the Geonosians because they are creepy bugs, but their language was so cool!  I’ve written about my fascination with them here, here, here, oh and here.

So you can imagine my great sadness and disappointment when I watched the Star Wars Rebels episode a few weeks back and found out they had been wiped out, or “sterilized” by the Empire.  Supposedly one female survived but could no longer breed soooo….yeah, all gone.  Dead.

The episode of SWR was one of my favorites this season actually.  I thought I’d love the one with the Twi’leks (my favorite species) led by Hera and her zeb agent kallusfather, but I liked the one with Zeb and Agent Kallus more.  Because Agent Kallus is awesome (yes, I like an Imperial!).  I liked how they brought two foes together, made them work alongside each other to escape, and in the end, Zeb did something I’m not sure I would do – he let him live, but also didn’t report Agent Kallus to the Ghost crew when they came to rescue him.  He let Agent Kallus remain on the moon to be picked up by the Empire.

There was one set of lines that I liked from the episode where you could tell the writers were trying to show two points of views and have a character evolution with Agent Kallus.  [Bold is Zeb]

“The only thing I know about Geonosis is that the population is gone. I never asked questions.”

“Well, maybe you should start. Or are you afraid of the answers you’ll get? Afraid you’ll learn the Geonosians were wiped out by your precious Empire?”

“And why would we do that? What could possibly be the point?”

“Ah, good questions. Chase the answers, and maybe you’ll learn the truth.”

I totally relate to Agent Kallus here and that always freaks me out.  I don’t ask too many questions and take things on face value often.  If there’s no point, why ask?

By the end of the episode, we see Kallus rescued by the Empire and alone in his bedroom cell, with what I believe is an aura of doubt around him.  Will his time with Zeb change his opinion on the Empire?  Or will he bury it underneath his feelings and not question, just do as he’s been taught?  Or will this episode come back further down the line and haunt him if he gets into a position where he has to kill Zeb?

Anyway, long discussion, but it brings me back to the point that the GEONOSIANS ARE GONE.  I’m sad.  I thought I should dedicate this entire post to point out that one person in the galaxy misses them and their language, even if no other fans care.

geonosian

Language of clicks, whirs

A fascinating species

They live deep in hives

Bugs of all sizes

Inclined to technology

More than meets the eye

Though gone forever

You will live on in my heart

And remembered

3 thoughts on “Haiku Me Friday! R.I.P Geonosians

  1. I agree about their language being awesome. Even they are not the most pleasant to look at, they sound incredible. I haven’t been able to watch Rebels, but it is sad to hear the Geonosians are gone. That makes two of us who will miss the over sized bugs.

  2. Sorry about the Geonosians 😦
    Man, I gotta catch up on Rebels. I’m behind on all my TV shows. And I’m still only on like Season 3 of The Clone Wars.

Use Your Comlink...

