In Which I Defend General Hux and Speculate on Supreme Leader Snoke

General Hux

I think I’m in the minority out there…but I really like General Hux.  I’ve been reading many reviews that label him as a superfluous character in The Force Awakens but I would like to argue that people who are writing about that are missing the point of who he is.

General Hux is a bad guy, sure.  He’s not the main antagonist like Kylo Ren and, possibly in the future, SL Snoke, but he falls more in the realm of a secondary antagonist.  Maybe J.J. was trying to create him to be the new Grand Moff Tarkin but he fell short.  Not in a bad way necessarily, but just because General Hux is different from Tarkin.

General HuxHux represents a new generation of the Empire.  He is the ideal First Order candidate.  Similar to Finn, he was raised with Imperial propaganda as his breakfast, lunch and dinner.  General Hux sincerely believed that the Empire saved the Republic from the Clone Wars and the current New Republic is weak.  He grew up as a beast frothing at his mouth, trapped by the New Republic.  He’s what I would label a First Order Fanatic (FOF…nice ring, right?).

This is where he is different from Grand Moff Tarkin.  Tarkin worked strategically to get the Empire where it was.  Hux believed it was his God given right to rule the galaxy as one of the best Generals in charge of the biggest, baddest base.   Tarkin was someone who firmly believed the Empire should rule the galaxy.  Hux believes the First Order is there to wipe out anyone who doesn’t agree with them and he should be leading it.

He’s a maniac. I love it.

All his thoughts and actions are surrounding the First Order in a way that reminds you of a deranged serial killer.  He’s obsessed with bringing the First Order to the height that the Empire once was.  He steals kids from birth to brainwash them into being perfect stormtroopers for the First Order!  Wow.

Everything he says and does is purely for the First Order. Starkiller base and it’s troops are his tools that he works into perfection.  Even Kylo Ren does not live up to his expectations, possibly because he knows that he has not completed his training or maybe it’s because of his heritage that involves people who so vehemently opposed the Empire, and now, the First Order.  Though Hux makes mistakes, you can see that he genuinely believes he still has the best army in the galaxy, unlike Kylo Ren who shows a moment of weakness when Hux accuses him of purposefully letting BB-8 escape in favor of taking the girl instead.  General Hux hates weakness and hates mistakes, especially large blunders like the one Kylo Ren made.

All this leads me to talk about why I loved his speech.  There were a lot of complaints out there about how it was badly written, but I didn’t even pay attention to what was said.  I was enraptured with Hux’s face because in that moment, he is in his glory.  Everything he has worked so hard for over 30 years is coming to a the epic climax.  His eyes fill with tears and you can see he means every single word of what he is saying to the core of his being.  This is his moment to show the galaxy that General Hux and the First Order are not ones to be trifled with.

He’s crazy.  I love it.

 

Supreme Leader Snoke

There are rumors going around that Snoke is Darth Plagueis.  He looks like someone once dead and most importantly, people are arguing that Snoke’s theme is eerily similar to the music played during ROTS when Palpatine and Anakin discuss Plagueis at the opera.

I sincerely hope that Snoke is not Plagueis.

Why?

Oh, I’m so glad you asked!

Because the more I’ve written in this blog about Palpatine, the more I love his character.  Lucas did an excellent job intertwining Palpatine’s story between both trilogies to see that he was an absolute genius and mastermind in creating the Empire bringing the Sith back into power.  He was, in supreme leader snokeshort, a genius the galaxy had never seen.

Palpatine, as we know, also learned everything he could from his master Darth Plagueis, and then killed him.  He stole everything he learned.

Do you really think that Palpatine would let there be a chance that Plagueis could return?  By doing so, it shows a weakness in Palpatine’s planning and takes away from how amazing and intelligent 60+ years of his life was.

The music being similar is a good argument, but LFL and Disney has a bunch of tricks up their sleeve.  Remember that the previews led us to believe that Finn was the Force user, as opposed to Rey.

Or perhaps Williams is getting up there in years and forgot he already did a very similar piece.

I just don’t like the idea of Snoke being Plagueis because it takes away from Palpatine’s greatness.  I much prefer Snoke being Palpatine resurrected but, for some reason, I just don’t think that’s the case.  I could be wrong, but I think that would be yawn-worthy and hope they don’t do it.  I like Palpatine’s story just the way it is and I don’t think he should be brought back.

It would also be somewhat out-of-character for Disney to bring in a character that was only mentioned in the PT when they are focusing so much on pulling similarities from the OT.  I will argue that the opera scene is one of the most interesting and best acted scenes in the PT and I don’t think anyone could argue with that so perhaps if they take anything from the PT, they go with the Plagueis storyline since it is canon.

If you’re interested in reading all the theories out there on who Snoke is, combined into one place, click here.

But please don’t.  Leave Plagueis to history and leave Palpatine with his body in fragments across the galaxy after the second Death Star was destroyed.

 

11 thoughts on “In Which I Defend General Hux and Speculate on Supreme Leader Snoke

  1. I am hoping for a new original evil villain. I don’t want Snoke to be anyone we know. I despise the theory that Snoke is Vader (Vader/Anakin is now a Force Spirit, ain’t happening). Great article, I too have high hopes for General Hux.

  2. I liked Hux ok, just felt he was a little flat. I liked how he’s kind of set up as a foil for Kylo Ren.

    I hate every theory I’ve heard about Snoke, and I think it’s because I don’t like the concept of Snoke at all. Hopefully the next movies will change my mind about that.

    • I know… I totally get that! I can’t stand him. But you know me, if i can’t change it, I try to accept it as best as I can. Maybe I should do try to find 10 things I like about him?? Haha.

  3. We’ll agree to disagree on Snoke/Plagueis…while I LOVE Ian McDiarmid, I’m not the biggest Palpatine fan. And I really enjoyed the Darth Plagueis novel (that’s no longer canon, I know) so I’d love to see the joke be on Palpatine. Again, agree to disagree 🙂 I would, however, prefer to see him as a whole new character rather than some Voldemort-type version of Palpatine.

    I do really like your take on Hux! He’s grown on me with each viewing, and I picked up a new level of respect after reading ‘Lost Stars.’ It focuses on the Empire, of course, but I have to imagine the same type of training and brainwashing happens with First Order so I can view him as being more dimensional. Good read, btw, if you’re looking to pick up a new book any time soon.

    • I guess it’s more interesting than a lot of them but also…like…why does he have to be someone we know? Why can’t he be someone new? I think that I actually dislike Snoke so much that I hope he’s someone new so that it doesn’t detract from the characters that don’t need to be fleshed out any further.

      What are your thoughts? Do you want him to be Tarkin?

      As for your other comments, glad I’ve given you a new view of Hux. I really liked him. Not my favorite character but definitely didn’t think he deserved all the bashing he got. I thought Captain Phasma deserved more of that…she was kind of a let down after all the marketing hype. I believe Mei Mei recommended Lost Stars to me too but isn’t that the one with quite a bit of romance? I feel like that’s why I passed on it.

      • I really don’t want him to be Tarkin, no, but I do think it’s interesting that they put together this “evidence” the way they did. There’d have to be some HUGE retcon to make me believe he somehow escaped the Death Star.

      • And re: Lost Stars, it has a ‘romance’ plot line stringing it together but it feels more like the framework for me than the focus when you start seeing how it all fleshes out against OT events 🙂

  4. I’m glad to see someone else who likes Hux! When I first saw him on screen, I saw him as flat, but as I watched the movie (and after a second viewing) I realized the same thing you did. He it totally indoctrinated with the First Order, he is fanatic (Tarkin was not). Hux and Kylo Ren are immature boys, in some ways trying to play act the way they THINK Vader and Tarkin SHOULD have done it, in the age of the Empire. They are young, arrogant, and think they can do it better – but do not have the knowhow yet, just that it has to be “bigger and badder”.

  5. Pingback: The Highs and the Lows: 2016 – Star Wars Anonymous

Use Your Comlink...

