Haiku Me Friday! Luke and His Grief

 

 

Star-Wars-Luke-Skywalker-Tatooine

The Empire killed them
For what? To find my two droids?
There is change coming

I love this photo…mostly because it’s not in the movie.  I feel like it’s this moment on Luke’s face where we’ve all been before.  The way he’s wrapped up in his poncho, even though it’s so warm out, shows that he has been hit badly by something strongly devastating.

You can see the tears in one of his eyes and there’s a haunted look in them.  Even if you don’t know the story, you know this boy is about to have his life changed.  You know something has happened, even if it’s all in his head or it was something external that forced him to get to this point.

For Luke, I always wonder if he’s wondering how the Empire could be so cruel over two droids?  Is he wondering if they asked Aunt Beru and Uncle Owen any questions before brutally murdering them?  Is his future even on his mind at this point or is he still in too much shock?  Does he blame the two new droids that he has for this turn of events?

In some ways, it’s interesting that he deals with this so easily.  When you compare Luke to Anakin, Anakin would have burned with rage for days.  He would have sought anyone working for the Empire on Tatooine for revenge.  Luke comes to acceptance faster than Anakin would and knows that, if anything, this is a sign for him to go to Alderaan with Obi-Wan.  As he says, “There’s nothing here for me now,” and it couldn’t be more true.

Anakin could never accept death.  It was an inexcusable part of life for him.  Instead of just trying to get his mother out of the Tusken Raiders camp and to a place where she could be buried properly, he instead takes his power, channels his anger, and kills all the Sandpeople.  When Palpatine tells him about the ability to stop death that Plagueis learned, it’s all he wants.  I believe he not only wants to it save Padmé, though that is his primary reason, but he also wants to have that power himself.  To never die and never have that weakness.

Luke, on the other hand, accepts it as part of life.  He accepts it as a normal person would and continues that even as his powers grow..  Through all the deaths we see him go through (Uncle/Aunt, Ben, Yoda, Vader), he tends to fight it a bit, but then realizes it’s part of life.

In this moment, I wonder if the feelings he’s going through gets him to acceptance faster.  Whereas Anakin stops in the anger stage and lets it build, Luke works through everything logically and emotionally to get to a point where he can see what he has to do next and why.

[I’m so mad at this new WP posting system…I can’t figure out how to make my haiku be a caption of the photo.  I can only get one line in before it stops me from doing two lines.  I also don’t know how to make my photo larger than this.  Grrrrr.  Anyone know how to make photos larger and add more than one line to a caption?  It won’t let me hit the plus sign on the photo and is telling me it’s as large as it gets. Lie.]

3 thoughts on “Haiku Me Friday! Luke and His Grief

  1. This is a great picture to evoke Luke’s sorrow. He loses a lot in the first movie, which is part of what brings the emotional impact.

    Also, I hate the tweaks WordPress does.
    This is a bit clunky, but if you go to the home page then “my sites” and scroll to the bottom of the left-hand column, there’s a WP Admin which will take you to the old interface for creating posts.

    • Ahhhh thank you. Very useful to know. Most of the time, I don’t mind changes. I only mind when I’m sitting there for a long time and can’t figure out how to do something that used to take me a few seconds.

Use Your Comlink...

