Friday Fives: Characters That Deserved More Screen Time

The Star Wars universe is amazing, we can all agree upon that.  There are so many characters, planets, ships, that our imagination can be taken beyond hyperspace and we know we could live in that world if we wanted to (oh, hell, I would love to live in the Star Wars universe).  But the stories we’ve seen in the saga thus far only focus on one family and the people that touch their lives.  Which is great and all, but unfortunately, we don’t get to see the background stories of other characters.  Here are 5 characters that I think deserve more screen time and wouldn’t mind if they were honored with a standalone movie.

Five Characters That Deserved More Screen Time

  1. Sabé. This woman was Padmé’s loyal bodyguard and decoy.  Sounds fun, right?  Uhhh, sounds dangerous.  How did she get to this position at such a young age?  What was the training like in order to learn all the young Queen’s Sabemannerisms, voice inflection, how to be a bodyguard, and learn all these secret ways of asking Queen Amidala for advice when you don’t know the answer?  Sabé showed great strength during the Battle of Naboo and was thrust into a position where she probably was always trained for, but didn’t expect to use in such a dire situation.  Was she even able to fool Obi-Wan and Qui-Gon?  She later fought in the Battle of Naboo and threw out the great line of “Viceroy! Your occupation here has ended!” Playing a pivotal role in distracting him so that Padmé could get the guns and corner Nute.  I would love to know more about Sabé, her past, and what the future held for her.
  2. Bib Fortuna. I haven’t talked about him much, and he’s clearly doesn’t have the strongest bib fortunamind, but I think he was actually a pretty savvy guy.  He was with Jabba for at least 30ish years (we saw him in TPM) so it shows that he knew the right things to say at the right time. Plus, he looked ugly meshed with evil.  The red eyes with greasy skin and lekku just made him this character I wanted to stay far away from.  According to the Legends, he actually really hated Jabba and tried several times to kill him unsuccessfully.  Poor guy.  To fail so, so, so many times.  But you know what?  Sounds like Jabba never knew or he wouldn’t have kept him on so it further proves my point that I think Bib was sly, cunning, and smarter than most.
  3. Syfo-Dyas. AOTC is not my favorite movie, but I was extremely interested in the clone army and how it was kept under wraps for so long.  The back story was explained to us slightly in The Clone Wars, sosifo dyas it fleshed out this mystery on who Syfo-Dyas was and how he kept the clone army hidden from others.  But I’d like to see a more robust version of this story and learn more about his Jedi past and the experiences that shaped him to make the decisions he did.  Why did the top Jedi not listen to him about the “growing darkness”?  Was this the beginning of someone being dissatisfied with the Jedi Council, even before Ahsoka?  Was there more unrest within the Jedi than we knew about and how did those seeds plant throughout the Order?  Knowing the ending of the movie (Spoiler alert!  He dies), could actually heighten the plot.
  4. Shmi Skywalker. Hear me out on this one.  We know a lot about Shmi already, but mostly just how she relates to Anakin’s story.  I’d like to see a more female centric Star Wars story that shmi skywalkerdeals with more everyday issues of life, with a sprinkling of Star Wars.  This could be a very interesting look at slavery in the Star War universe, something that is clearly abhorred by those closer to the center as implied by Padmé’s shock, but still very prevalent in the outer worlds.  Shmi was in slavery most of her life.  And imagine her shock when she became pregnant for no apparent reason?  This could be a very interesting movie/story, and if someone did it right, they could really do a good job with making it very separate from any Christ-like similarities.  Shimi doesn’t need to be visited by any angel or vision, she could just all of a sudden become pregnant.  Imagine the fear and confusion that lives with her for 9 months.  And when she gives birth, she devotes herself to her son and sees it as something happy, but he is taken from her at such a young age.  From there, she goes on to lead a happier life with Cliegg Lars.  This could be a very real life, tough and gritty, female-life story that I’d love to see on the big screen, even though I doubt it’ll ever happen.
  5. Nien Nunb. I have this this weird fascination with this character because I feel like they kind of dumped him in the nien nunbstory and then threw him away.  I mean, he got to be first mate to Lando during the final battle in ROTJ.  You have to be pretty good for that, especially as he doesn’t seem to speak a lick of Basic, but understands it.  According to Legends, he was once a smuggler and befriended Lando during one of his flights.  So much potential here!  Smugglers are always interesting so it would be great to see his adventures and the movie would be in all subtitles!  It would be a foreign action film, but Star Wars style.

All characters in a movie are there to serve a purpose, whether it be a decoy for a queen or the mother of the most important character.  But sometimes I think that they should get a little more time to show their side of the story and how they got where we saw them.

Who would you pick?  Do you have anyone from the movies you’d like to see more of?

11 thoughts on “Friday Fives: Characters That Deserved More Screen Time

    • Ah Lobot yes good one. Definitely should have him on the list. I understand people’s fascination with bossk but if I had to pick any that were hanging out with Darth Vader, it would def be IG-88

      • See, when I was a kid, my parents wouldn’t buy me Star Wars toys, so I had to rely on extended family to get me toys on birthdays and they didn’t always know which ones to get. All my friends had Luke, Han, Chewie, etc. I had Lobot, Bossk, and an Ugnaught. : /

        Since I’ve been playing SWTOR, especially the Sage storyline with Qyzen Fess, I really dig Trandoshans. And, watching TCW finally, I like seeing more of them.

  1. Max Rebo!!
    But really, there are so many. Any of the bounty hunters, or cantina patrons (why, yes, I do love those short story anthologies…) or fighter pilots. I love all your picks. I have never understood that whole Syfo-Dyas clone plot in AOTC, it is so poorly explained.

    • Yeah I had to go through wookiepedia again to try and sort through his story line.
      I actually had those two twin sisters from the cantina on my lady but then I took them off. Max Rebo is definitely another good one to add. I’d totally want to know more about him.

  2. I was always led to believe that Palpatine was actually the one who placed the order for the clones and that he did it in Syfa Dyas’ name ad killed the Jedi to avoid any confusion from him.

    I would love to see some more screen time for IG-88, Boba Fett, and Cad Bane. With Boba everyone thinks of him as this super awesome Character but he doesn’t really do a whole lot in the movies. The Clone Wars cartoon kinda helped flesh him out a little more but I would like to know more. IG-88 on the other hand we know nothing about. What drives a droid to take on the life of a bounty hunter? What is his drive to do what he does? I am very intrigued by this droid. Cad Bane is in my opinion one of the greatest bounty hunters in the universe and I want to know more about him. I mean, the guy broke into the Jedi temple and stole a Jedi holo rob from right under their noses. That takes skill.

    • Omg totally agree on the IG-88 and Cad Bane! I think IG-88 would just be interesting because of all the reasons you mentioned.
      Dave Filoni was asked at SWCA if Cad Bane would return in Rebels and he gave a very non-committal answer. Basically, if we find a good reason to bring a character back, then we’ll do so but this is a new storyline for new characters and we don’t want to crowd them out with too many TCW folks. So maybe? Or maybe not. But I’d love to see him in action again!

    • “I was always led to believe that Palpatine was actually the one who placed the order for the clones and that he did it in Syfa Dyas’ name and killed the Jedi to avoid any confusion from him.”
      I concur.

Use Your Comlink...

