Friday Fives: The Death Star

So since I haven’t resolved my Scene Its issue yet (there’s a bunch of complication with this, least of all that he wants me to now run the website but I’m not sure I have the time for it. On top of that, I’d have to add in TFA and Star Wars standalone movies and I’m not sure where I’d get those scenes or if I want to be responsible for it), I’m testing out my Friday Fives.

The 5 Coolest Things About the Death Star

  1. The most obvious point…the Death Star is round. Like, what?  That was the coolest thing ever the first time Ideath star saw it.  When I think of space stations, even today, I think of flat surfaces that are floating in space…mainly because that’s what we know from Earth.  I basically think of it as taking a building and lifting it up into space, except cooler of course because it would have rounded corners and made completely out of metal or something.  But the Death Star was completely round.  How did it manage to stay “afloat” without tipping to the side?
  2. It has the magnitude to destroy an entire planet. Oh my goodness.  I do not want that thing floating near Earth.  The fact that it was even referred to as a “small moon” means that you could have seen it from Alderaan, in fact probably did.  Can you imagine the chills that would have gone down your body seeing that space station slowly float into view?  Oooo…I just thought of a really cool EU/Legends story.  Someone sees the space station from Alderaan and escapes in a nick of time.  Actually that’s not much of a story, but it would be an interesting scene within the story.  The sense of foreboding you get when you see it in view, Bail Organa gives you a secret message to carry to Leia knowing he will never see her again, you narrowly escape the planet in your ship only to feel the rock of the explosion behind you.  Maybe your ship even gets somewhat damaged and you have to find a way to the closest planet on leaking fuel.    I’m getting distracted.  Anyway, I wouldn’t necessarily describe this fact as “cool”, but at the same time, it kind of is from a storytelling perspective.  I’ve been researching online if any other space station in fiction did that prior to Star Wars, and I haven’t found anything.  Neither have I found anything of space stations doing that after the Death Star.  It’s definitely left its mark (PUN kind of).
  3. It’s controlled by buttons. I just noticed this when I was watching ANH this past weekend.  It’s so old school, death star buttonsbut I love it.  Obviously, this movie was made in the late 70s and everything then was buttons.  Nowadays, we are so used to everything being a touch screen that buttons seem antiquated.  I always took the Death Star and its operations for granted, but rewatching it this weekend made me really think how it looked a little dated.  But at the same time, would you want something that large controlled by a touch screen?  You’ve all been there when your phone doesn’t respond to your touch.  What if that happened on the Death Star?  You’d probably blow yourself up.  I’ll be interested to see if TFA involves buttons or touch screens.
  4. It can be operational when not complete. I don’t know many machines that can operate even when it’s not complete.  For instance, a car’s engine can be working just fine, but without the wheels attached to a car, attached to a body, which is attached to the engine…it’s not going to go very far.  A laptop’s CPU and RAM can be in perfect working order, but without the keyboard and mouse, it would be pretty useless.  But the Death Star II is completely capable of blasting apart ships while it sits by looking harmless.  Genius, Palpatine, genius.
  5. And further on that topic, the second Death Star brought up some really interesting points. What happened to the innocent contractors brought in to work on it?  And, for Death Star II to be completed that quickly, they would have had to begun working on it way before ROTJ.  Yes, you know where this is going (and if you don’t, prepare to be enlightened).  This is one of the coolest scenes, in my opinion, to come from the Death Star existing:

Ever wonder if a Death Star could actually destroy a planet IRL?  Read this.

So, as a first Friday Fives, how did I do?  I do, truly, miss my Scene It on Friday’s, but I think there’s a time when you need to stop mourning something and turn the page.  Today is the first day of spring, so maybe this is a good time to leave Scene It’s in the winter and move forward with the life of something else.

By the way – STAR WARS CELEBRATION IS NOW LESS THAN A MONTH AWAY AHHH.

3 thoughts on “Friday Fives: The Death Star

  1. Great start!
    Your #4 is a great example of what software developers like my husband call an “agile” process. Palpatine may have been evil, but he was efficient!

    • Lol, I somehow completely missed your comment. Sorry about that. That’s what happens with the phone app. If I have a few WP notifications, I’ll usually miss one. And yes, he is efficient! I mean, he was a master organizer and left almost no stone unturned so I would expect nothing less of him.

Use Your Comlink...

