R.I.P. Scene Its

Vader funeral

It is with a heavy, sad heart that I am writing to announce that my webpage that I have used for the past 2.5 years for my Scene it on Friday’s is no longer active.  I visited today to find out that the domain had expired and the website author has not renewed it.

I’m at a loss.  Scene it on Fridays have been a staple at this blog for a long time and I enjoyed writing my observations on the scenes.  The closest webpage I could find that could help me out was: http://department.monm.edu/classics/starwars.htm. I guess I could do a little more work and actually look up the script with these scenes…but I noticed these scenes were a little off.

For instance, on that webpage, every movie has exactly 50 scenes.  What?  I know that the PT had over 100 scenes Sad stormtrooperfor each of its movies because it was something I observed frequently.  The PT had a lot of shorter, smaller scenes while the OT had longer scenes, but less of them per movie.

So what do I do?  I’m really just completely bummed but I still want to keep a standing Friday series.  I emailed the address they had listed, so we’ll see what happens but just in case he doesn’t respond…

My mom always told me that “When one door closes, another one opens,” and I do believe that so maybe this is a sign that it’s time to put my Scene It’s to rest now.  I’m reluctant to let them go because of how much I loved doing them, but maybe all I need is another idea.

The only thought I really had was doing Friday Fives.  Every week I pick the five best/most interesting topics to write about.  (It’s also kind of a nod to Fives from TCW)  So “5 Best Scenes from ESB” or “5 Best Ships Seen on Coruscant” or “5 Best Stormtrooper Lines” (lol that would be funny).  The only thing that worries me about that, is how long until I run out?  Could that go on indefinitely?

I’m really at a loss.  Does anyone have any ideas for me and where you think I should go?

6 thoughts on “R.I.P. Scene Its

  1. NoOoOOoo! That sucks – those were my favorite. Maybe take a list of every character from PT, OT, and TCW and randomly pick one each week and tell us your thoughts on the character, the actor, etc. -shrugs-

    • Haha, shrugging makes you sound not very enthusiastic about your idea. I would definitely run out of characters unless I started delving into every background character possible. But it’s a thought!

      In good news – the owner of the site did write back to me. He said he’d be willing to pay for storage and registration but I’d have to administer a whole new site. He said he could also send me all the scene information separately…so there is hope! Should I do that?

      • Yeah, I was totally thinking every background character possible, which could get interesting in Mos Eisley or on the Death Star – but that’s more like one of my ridiculously OCD projects, probably why I shrugged. Maybe nobody cares about “Cantina Patron #37”

        Change is good, but so is continuing to do something you enjoy. Tough call.

        • Ugh I know! Well, I’ll continue discussions with this guy because one of my fears was starting next year, I wasn’t sure where I’d get my TFA scene by scene information…so I was debating stopping Scene Its next year anyway. So if I take over this site I’d have to manage TFA and then Rogue One, and then VIII and then another standalone…etc etc, which might just be too much work.

          I’ll continue slowly digesting this over the next thousand years. But hopefully shorter.

  2. NOOOOOO –channeling Vader there hehe. I do love the Scene it on Fridays, and you do such a great job with them. But it’s ok to change it up once in awhile. I like the Friday Fives idea–you have almost unlimited possible topics there. Just have to be a little creative. “Top 5 characters I’d want on a deserted island with me,” etc.

  3. maybe as a short term solution you could revisit previously posted Scene it on Fridays that had good comment discussions or interesting tangents or POVs and do something with those?

Use Your Comlink...

