Give Me Your Advice!

This Saturday I am going to watch ANH … with someone who has NEVER seen any of the Star Wars movies before.  I am SO excited.  This is the first time I’ve ever had an experience like this.  My plan is to observe reactions and ask some questions at the end of the movie.

Here’s where you guys come in.  What should I ask her at the end of the movie beyond the usual “What did you think?”?  I really want to make this an experiment…I mean, her life is about to be changed forever!  I want this to be almost like an interview process, unless she gets completely freaked out and annoyed (both of which could happen) and then I’ll have to stop my questions.

So if you could ask someone questions who has just seen ANH for the first time ever, what would you ask?  Here are my initial thoughts:

  • Did you enjoy the movie?
  • What was your least favorite part of the movie?
  • Who was your favorite character? Why?
  • Do you think Star Wars is relatable to our lives?
  • What do you have questions on? (I won’t answer anything that will be answered in later movies)
  • Why do you think Star Wars has such a large following?
  • Do you think the movies are catered to children or adults?  Why?
  • Do you think the movies are catered more for men or women?  Why?  (really interested in the answer to this one)

That’s what I could think of off the top of my head.  I will report back next week on how it went and her thoughts!  Let me know if I should include any other questions…

I'm not sure if this is true or not, but hopefully she has as strong of a reaction.

I’m not sure if this is true or not, but hopefully she has as strong of a reaction.

P.S. I’ve written about what order to watch it in for a newbie and we’re doing the order it was released as we continue with the saga.  I tried to force The Machete Theory for this saga viewing, but Mr. R. put his foot down on that.  ONE DAY I hope to get some newbie to watch it in that order just to see what it’s like.  Maybe I should just do it myself?

8 thoughts on “Give Me Your Advice!

    • Oh my goodness, the endless possibilities! Haha. I feel like that would be kind of hard though. I mean, I don’t think one would be happy if the other is doing something cool and they’re left out. BUT if you achieve this – it could be really awesome.

  1. Definitely ask about favorite character 🙂 I would also try for a discussion about the various genre aspects (because if they haven’t seen SW, they’re prob not a huge sci-fi/fantasy fan?)–what sci-fi elements they liked (or didn’t), action scenes (or lack thereof…the lightsaber battles in ANH are hilariously lame), archetypes from Westerns, etc.

    And try to be calm lol.

  2. maybe ask her before she watches it what she has heard bout star wars. I find that when i talk to people that have never seen SW, they become those people that agree with the general thought that it is unrealistic and strange. after you watch it, you should ask if she still finds these things to be true???? maybe, I’m just giving it a try.

  3. Pingback: Confessions of a First Time Star Wars Viewer | Star Wars Anonymous

Use Your Comlink...

