My First…

So this blog has gone through a lot of little changes since I first started out.  My views have grown every year and more and more people have been finding me.  I definitely think some of it has to do with the fact that there’s something minor going on called The Force Awakens – but hey, take what you can get, right?

One of the changes I have noticed recently is that I’ve been getting random requests throughout the year ranging from people wanting to guest blog for me to companies wanting me to promote their stuff.  The funny thing is that for so many of these people that reach out…they don’t read my blog thoroughly!  I mean, the title of my blog is STAR WARS ANONYMOUS.  Hmmmm, let me think what that blog could be about… Dr. Who?  Jurassic Park?  Divergent?  Slaps hand to forehead.

Someone wrote to me asking if they could guest blog and when I probed deeper, turns out she was a writer interested in political science.  I mean, what?  I asked her if she had any way she could tie her stuff to Star Wars, but no luck.

Don’t reach out to me on something other than Star Wars.  I thought that was obvious?

So anyway, I recently had a company that is just starting out reach out to me to see if I wanted one of their t-shirts if I would mention them on my blog.  And lo and behold!  They actually have some Star Wars shirts.  I promised myself that the first person/company that got it right and was related to Star Wars, I would promote on my blog.  So here we are.

Dork Tees is definitely a quirky, slightly inappropriate company.  I’m not a fan of their “crude” t-shirts, but you know what, it takes all kinds of people to make the world go round.  Just because I don’t like it, doesn’t mean someone else might not.  I also don’t advise anyone to wear The Original Jedi Mind Trick t-shirt to a convention or you might get killed by some women (myself included).

Like my little Star Wars collection in the background? :)

Like my little Star Wars collection in the background? 🙂

That said, I’ve always, always, always, always wanted a Star Wars drinking shirt so I immediately was drawn to the Empire Ale shirt.  Unfortunately, it doesn’t come in a female size and they should definitely fix that because it’s an awesome shirt!  And I’m not just saying that, but I actually really like it.  It’s kind of subtle in the way that it just looks like some kind of design, but then when you see the stormtrooper, you get a little chuckle out of it.  I got the smallest men’s size, which is still large on me but I also have a very small frame, so I think the small would fit other women.  And it is SO comfortable.  That’s my favorite part about it.  The material is soft and cuddly and makes me want to live in it.  I only had one other Star Wars t-shirt that was made of similar material and to this day, I have no idea what happened to it.  I had it in college and now it’s gone.  I wore it ALL the time so I’m happy to have another t-shirt just as comfortable.  I’ll actually be wearing it to a Star Wars party this weekend (more on that in a later blog post) to show my Star Wars love while we play Star Wars drinking games.  Perfect t-shirt!

They do have some funny, inside joke shirts (like the Princess Leia one with the benches, get it?) and I actually really like the t-shirts under “Simply Nerdy”; I think those are the ones that got the best laughs from me.  And if all the t-shirts are as comfortable as the one they sent me, then I’ll definitely consider buying more.

I’m a big supporter of small businesses and businesses just starting out (for obvious reasons), so do check them out.  www.DorkTees.com.

Over and out!  MTFBWY.

4 thoughts on “My First…

  1. “it takes all kinds of people to make the world go round. Just because I don’t like it, doesn’t mean someone else might not. ”

    The world would be a much better place if more people had this attitude.

    PS My neurons may not be flying completely across my brain due to baby induced sleep deprivation but I don’t really get the Original Jedi Mind Trick T-shirt nor do I see what might get one killed for wearing it.

    • I’d like to say that’s my mentality all the time, but unfortunately, not always the case. I took a year off between high school and college and did a 4 month backpacking trip in Australia. I did WWOOF (Willing Workers On Organic Farms – where you work on a farm for accommodation and food) as part of the trip and I stayed in this town called Ballina (kind of Australia’s version of Amsterdam). The woman I stayed with was a complete hippy…wouldn’t even let me kill bugs due to the fact that it might be bad karma. Anyway, this is a long story, but I was full of opinions back then on how people should act/behave and she just always said, “Well, darling, it takes all kinds of people to make the world go round.” It’s always stuck with me.

      As for the shirt – there are a few things going on with it. 1) The girl is dressed in this cosplay that is obviously supposed to emphasize her sexuality, not the costume because that is not a Jedi Knight costume. It therefore detracts from the fact that girls can be true/real fans and that when they dress in revealing outfits, it’s for the attention of men and not because of the love of a character. 2) The shirt is aimed at men saying that by dressing like that, the men will become helpless and do whatever a girl asks, which is just kind of pointing again to the fact that girls dress like that for the attention of men and it does not give men a real mind or say in this either, just portrays them as instinctive neanderthals.

      Perhaps I’m more sensitive to this because it’s a big turmoil in the fan world over the past few years due to the some people (mostly men) thinking girls just go to conventions in revealing outfits to get attention of men and claim to be geeks, aka the “fake geek girl”. It takes away from females who have spent hours and hours working on a costume and know everything about that character and who really are a true fan. By labeling the girl “fake” you just take away everything she’s worked so hard to create and her intelligence by saying you only wear that for the attention of men.

      Anyway – I’m repeating myself and maybe I took it a little too seriously, but I know I wouldn’t be that happy if I saw someone wear that.

  2. Are those the Burger King glasses?!?! I have those too 🙂
    Anyway, some of those shirt are quite funny. Took me a bit to get the Princess Leia one, but then I about died laughing. I like the one you got, too–they definitely need to get it in women’s style!

    • LOL yup! Those are BK glasses! My friend is a big antique shopper and so if she finds one, she’ll buy it for me.

      I’m glad you got the Leia shirt! I didn’t want to say what it was on my blog so that people could figure it out, but yeah, that was one of those funny “inside joke” kind of shirts.

Use Your Comlink...

