Eureka!

Don’t make fun of me. I woke up at about 3:00am on Sunday night/Monday morning with a realization that I’m embarrassed to admit took me 15 years to figure out.

At the end of TPM, during Qui-Gon’s funeral, Yoda says to Mace Windu in reference to the Sith: “Always two there are…no more…no less.darth vader and emperor A master and an apprentice.”

What woke me up is the realization that in order for there to be always only two Sith, it means at one point the apprentice must kill the master. There’s nowhere else to go if you want to eventually become a master/Sith Lord; you must kill the one who trained you to always have two.

Why did it take me 15 years to realize this? I seriously never thought about this before, even though I knew that throughout the Saga, there was always only two Sith (no – I’m not going to get into Rule of One vs Rule of Two…I’m basing this off of what we see in the movies only).

It then got me to thinking…how is that balance in the Force? When you have two Sith and a whole Jedi Order, the Force is clearly aligned with the light side. The Jedi always believed that Anakin would bring balance to the Force and most people think that this was done through his son, Luke. obi wan and yoda

But perhaps we can look at this another way: Anakin did bring balance to the Force when he became a Sith and not through his son. By becoming Darth Vader and heading up the Jedi Purge, he left two Jedi untouched – Yoda and Obi-Wan Kenobi. In this sense, we have a perfect balance in the Force: two Jedi and two Sith. The Purge was a horrible, gruesome, shocking act of violence and it’s sad to think about, but in the end, it fulfilled the prophecy that was spoken of Anakin.

What were the Jedi thinking?  They were so excited to find the boy who could be the “chosen one”, the Jedi who matched all their descriptions…but how did they think this could end well for them?  What did they think “balance” actually meant?  There will never again be Sith?  Is this why they didn’t want to train him or was it really because of his age?  Were they using Anakin’s age as a cover up?  I just can’t comprehend what the Jedi, especially one like Qui-Gon, was so excited about.

When we look at Luke’s journey through the majority of OT, we see that the balance remains. When Obi-Wan dies, Luke heads to Dagobah to train with Yoda and becomes his apprentice. This creates the two Sith/two Jedi balance. By the end of ROTJ, when we see Luke burning Anakin, he is the only one left.

Is this a balance? I think there are two ways we can look at this.

No – it is not a balance because Luke is a Jedi, which means the pendulum is now swinging toward the light side of the Force. It’s almost as if he won the coin toss at the beginning of a football game and has the advantage to decide where the future goes (in the case of the EU, creating the NJO). Sure, the Sith will rise up again, but until that happens, he now has the advantage to plan his strategy and get the Jedi back as a stronger ford (pun!). So will that be a balance? Not if the Sith keep to only having two at one time.

Yes – the Force was perfectly in balance at the end of ROTJ because Luke had some traits of the dark side (passion, anger, etc.) as well as traits known primarily to the Jedi. Luke combined within himself the ideal balance of the Force. As long as it was just him, he kept the Force at perfect equilibrium. luke funeral pyre I don’t really agree with the latter answer because I believe Luke was clearly a Jedi. In fact, he says to Palpatine’s face that he’s a Jedi and by doing so, he is aligning himself with the light side of the Force. It is my belief then that the pendulum is now slightly in favor of the light side once again.

I’m sure other people have had the same thoughts I have because Star Wars has so many fans that it’s almost impossible to have new theories. It doesn’t bother me though since it was the first time I thought this through in a new light! But it’s funny how when Star Wars (or anything) becomes such a large part of your life, sometimes you don’t really think too much about it. Does that make sense? I think about it all the time, but don’t often see things clearly because it’s part of my daily life.

What do you think of my theory? Have you thought this way before and think it’s totally pathetic that it’s my first time realizing all of this? Most importantly – have you ever had a thought about Star Wars that wakes you up in the middle of the night with excitement?

A prophecy misread?

A prophecy misread?

14 thoughts on “Eureka!

  1. Oh my gosh!! I’d never thought about it either – but you are absolute right: balance meant equal light and dark. The prophesy was fulfilled when Anakin and Palpatine wiped out the rest of the jedi’s. Brilliant!
    Not sure what to say about the end of RoTJ – Luke is the only one left, but the story isn’t over yet, there is still time for things to balance out. It will be interesting to see where the next three movies go.

    • Oh man, I didn’t even think about thinking about the next couple of movies, LOL. I’m sure my blog will be introduced with a lot more concepts and content when that happens. I’m already annoyed that I’ll have to change my picture on top and try to think of something new haha.

      But I’m glad you hadn’t thought about it either!

    • Hahaha. I think Lucas put some thought in it. I think he wanted Anakin to be the “chosen one” and he wanted a prophecy, and even perhaps Luke to fulfill it. But I just think he messed up on the wording of the prophecy. Or word…”balance”. Perhaps he just wanted a chosen one who would bring about the destruction of the Sith. Funnily enough, that is brought up in ROTS but the other two prequel movies just refer to the prophecy of bringing balance to the Force. Maybe by ROTS they realized their mistake and how confusing it was.

  2. “What woke me up is the realization that in order for there to be always only two Sith, it means at one point the apprentice must kill the master.”

    Yes, that’s exactly the idea. When the apprentice is strong enough to defeat the master then the master is no longer deserving of the title Dark Lord of the Sith, which now belongs to the (former) apprentice.

    “By becoming Darth Vader and heading up the Jedi Purge, he left two Jedi untouched – Yoda and Obi-Wan Kenobi. In this sense, we have a perfect balance in the Force: two Jedi and two Sith.”

    I’m actually surprised that you just realized this because one of my comments awhile back made this point. Quoting myself (https://starwarsanon.wordpress.com/2013/08/21/the-jedi-code-absolutes/comment-page-1/#comment-587):

    Anakin did bring balance to the Force: via the Great Jedi Purge. It makes no sense that the Jedi thought he would bring balance to the Force by eliminating the Sith. Before the Great Jedi Purge the Force was massively balanced toward the “light side”: the Jedi vastly outnumbered the two Sith, who were in hiding while the Jedi practically ruled the entire Republic. Anakin — as Vader — brought balance to the Force by reducing the Jedi to only a handful of survivors. Of the Jedi survivors, only two Jedi from the Jedi Council were left (Obi-Wan and Yoda) to balance the two Sith Lords.

    • OMG. OMG. That is too weird. You DID bring it up. And I totally recognized it and acknowledged the theory! So either:

      A) It’s been lying in my subconscious ever since and came to light this past Sunday.
      B) I was in denial, and finally admitted it and woke up (literally and figuratively), or
      C) I forgot.

      Honestly, I think I just forgot. Because if I had remembered at all (and I’m a pretty honest person), I would not have been so amazed by my eureka. I’m actually a little sad that you had told me and I had realized this. Man. Oh well.

      Correct me if I’m wrong on this, because I didn’t watch all the movies before confirming this, but I BELIEVE that in TPM, they just said the prophecy would be that the Chosen One would bring balance to the Force. Can’t remember what was said in AOTC, if it was even mentioned at all, because I haven’t watched that in years. But I remember in ROTS, the exchange goes like this:

      OBI-WAN: With all due respect, Master, is he not the Chosen One? Is he not to destroy the Sith and bring balance to the Force?
      MACE: So the prophecy says.

      So this is the first time that we see the prophecy referring to the one who is supposed to destroy the Sith. Also makes sense with the way I-VI plays out, but I feel like they had a hiccup between I-III and maybe realized “balance” was the wrong word.

      Except it’s the right word according to my new (old) found discovery.

      • I figured you just forgot. No big deal, and in a way you figured it out for yourself.

        I believe you are correct about what was said in TPM and ROTS (and I don’t think the prophecy was mentioned in AOTC). I think both parts of the prophecy — that the Chosen One would (a) bring balance to the Force and (b) destroy the Sith — held true and were fulfilled by Anakin (albeit in very different ways):

        1. Anakin, as Darth Vader, brought balance to the Force in the Great Jedi Purge. The Sith had a bit of an edge at this point in that they ruled the Empire, but in numbers of Jedi and Sith everything was much better balanced.

        2. Anakin destroys the Sith in ROTJ by returning to the Jedi and killing Palpatine — leaving neither the Sith master nor his apprentice.

        According to Wookieepedia, the Jedi interpreted “balance” as the total defeat of the dark side — that the dark side is a disruption of the natural “balance” of the light side (http://starwars.wikia.com/wiki/Chosen_One). This makes sense, because otherwise it is unfathomable how how the Jedi could interpret the “balance” part of the prophecy in their favor. Lucas seems to favor the theory that “balance” means the light and dark side are equally powerful, rather than the theory that it means the dark side is totally destroyed (http://starwars.wikia.com/wiki/Chosen_One#Behind_the_scenes).

        One issue with the prophecy — under either interpretation — is that at the beginning of TPM the Jedi thought the Sith were extinct — so why would the Jedi think that the prophecy would be fulfilled (or hadn’t already been fulfilled)? My guess is that the Jedi thought the prophecy had been fulfilled when they thought the Sith were extinct, then remembered the prophecy and expected it to be fulfilled later when Darth Maul appeared.

        • I agree with both points and thought of that while writing, but I just was stuck on the whole Yoda line from TPM. And then I began to get obsessed with what they said in TPM vs. ROTS and the blog post was going in all directions. So I had to bring it in and only put in what was mostly relevant.

          I don’t like Wookiepedia’s/Jedi definition of balance (oooo…they have a canon vs. legends tab now! Wasn’t there yesterday for me. Interesting). I believe that definition is just fans trying to explain a mishap in the storyline. I get what they’re saying, but don’t really agree.

          I also was thinking about your last point when I was writing this post and just ignored it. Maybe they always knew the Sith would eventually return? But that counteracts the definition of “extinct”. Hmmm, tough question.

          We can talk about this in another year when I forget this conversation and have another Eureka moment. 😉

  3. “Bring balance to the Force” is such a stupidly vague prophecy–there are a bajillion ways Anakin might be thought to have accomplished that. And honestly, I don’t know if he ever did. Your theory works for me. And I hope to someday wake up in the middle of the night with a Star Wars epiphany!

  4. Pingback: Another Happy Landing: The Endings of Star Wars Films – Star Wars Anonymous

Use Your Comlink...

