Tosche Station Finds: June

June is the beginning of summer around where I live.  May is nice, but it can still be on the cooler side.  June means lazy, hot days, time by the beach/pool/pond/lake, bbq’s and much more.   

If you are lucky enough to live near a coast (I take it for granted way too much) or are visiting the beach this summer, lucky you!  There is something about the beach air and ocean water that is so rejuvenating.  I always sleep like a baby when I get back from the beach.  Even if all you get to is a pool this summer, enjoy it!  There’s no season like summer.  It’s my favorite.

When I go to the beach, I have a checklist: sunscreen, beach chair, bathing suit, towel, water, and a bag that carries my books/magazines.

There’s not much I can do about Star Wars sunscreen, but there’s always an option of just taking the sunscreen bottle you have and covering it with Star Wars stickers.  Haha.  However, I can definitely help with everything else.

Bags don’t need to be fancy when you go the beach.  In fact, I’ve never carried one of those huge ones.  I always rely on my little nylon Battlestar Galactica bag, which has been my friend at many conventions as well.  It fits books, wallet, water bottle, keys, and any other essentials.  It’s similar to this Star Wars one by MichelesMarvels, so I know I can recommend this.   Make sure you include all of your favorite EU books for some adequate reading.

Hmmm...what should I bring in this to take to the beach? (bag by MichelesMarvels)

Hmmm…what should I bring in this to take to the beach? (bag by MichelesMarvels)

 

I don’t want you to get dehydrated, so be sure to pack your water in these great water bottles by SwirlyTwirlyDesigns, personalized with your own name (of course) so no one confuses it with the other Poland Springs out there.  And why do these have to be for kids?  I love them!

As for lounging by the beach, check out this AWESOME beach chair by emmanddoubleyas.  Of course, it would be hard to pack that into your car and take out again, but it was too cool not to put in here.  I found a good variety of foldable Star Wars beach chairs on ebay, but most of them were for kids!  This was the best I could find for adults from ThinkGeek, and it’s Artoo, so what’s not to love?

When it comes to bathing suits, there are quite a few options.  Do you go bikini or one piece?  If you go one piece, Summersonic has quite a few different kinds.  Check out their whole page, they definitely have cool geeky bathing suits!  Bikinis…well…I’ll save that for someone else to go into.

(side tangent – why do girls always have to look super sexy when wearing a bikini??  Why can’t we just look normal, like we’re reading a book on the beach?  Or, and here’s a novel idea, just pose in the bikini with your hand on your hip.  There’s no need for these ample bosoms and junk-in-the-trunk being thrust out while standing/kneeling in a what I’m sure is a terribly uncomfortable position.)

Finally, you need the beach towel.  There are tons out there.  But these from newegg really struck my fancy.  They are pricey, but you get four towels and I love the Han Solo in carbonite!  The only danger is that someone might steal them while you’re walking the shoreline…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Do any of you guys have some Star Wars beach stuff?  I’m trying to think if I do, and I actually don’t think so.  I used to have a beach towel with the Naboo starfighters on it, but that’s long gone.

One thought on “Tosche Station Finds: June

  1. To make you feel better about not living near the beach, I am currently about a quarter mile from the ocean, the temperature is about 60/65, and the sky is gray and gloomy. Here in the Santa Barbara/Ventura area of California we call it June Gloom. We won’t have a sunny beach until early to mid July.
    That being said, this is some fine beach gear.

Use Your Comlink...

