Scene it on Friday – ANH Scene #45

walking death star hallway

I was so happy to get a scene that was not from the Prequels, but now I don’t really have much to talk about with this scene.  Still thankful it’s from the OT though.

One thing that got me thinking was a stray thought of, “Luke is so whiny in this whole movie.”  Just look at his line!  Why on earth would you complain out loud around tons of Empire folks?  Dumb.

That led to me thinking about Luke’s change as a character throughout the OT.  ANH is the only movie where he acts just like a whiny teenager.  The character of Luke in ESB seems drastically different from ANH.  I’ve always accepted this without hesitation because so many different things in ESB grab my attention and you easily brush it off as Luke has seen a lot between ANH and ESB so he’s changed.  Everyone changes, right?

But don’t you keep some basic form of your personality throughout your life?  Luke’s change is really noticeable.  I don’t see any of the excitable, annoying, whiney kid in the next two movies that we saw in Episode IV.  I feel like there should be a little bit of it there.  The Luke Skywalker from ESB and ROTJ is just so DIFFERENT from the Luke in ANH.  He’s so green in ANH, but I believe he should still take some of that personality with him through the next movies. Even when reading the EU novels, I remember it seemed like Luke was very serious, so they used the Luke from ESB and ROTJ.

Sure, there are tons of reasons why he is different, but I’m just realizing that Lucas really did make ANH as a standalone film, since he thought it might not succeed.  When it became such a huge success, he really dived deep into Luke’s character, but in a way, he completely changed the character at the same time.  If Luke was whiney and excitable in the beginning of ANH, and then changed when his aunt and uncle died, I would have accepted this more.  Yes, he changes, but it’s not like he goes from ANH Luke to ESB Luke the moment they die.

Am I making any sense?

Other fun things to note:

  • We don’t read about Chewie yelling to the mouse droid in the script 😦  I love that part because I love mouse droids.
  • Vacuum tube?
  • For some reason, I’m really reminded of the elevator in the Ministry of Magic.
I guess he IS a little short for a stormtrooper

I guess he IS a little short for a stormtrooper

INTERIOR: DEATH STAR — ELEVATOR TUBE.

Han and Luke try to look inconspicuous in their armored suits as they wait for a vacuum elevator to arrive. Troops, bureaucrats, and robots bustle about, ignoring the trio completely. Only a few give the giant Wookiee a curious glance.

Finally a small elevator arrives and the trio enters.

LUKE: I can’t see a thing in this helmet.

A bureaucrat races to get aboard also, but is signaled away by Han. The door to the pod-like vehicle slides closed and the elevator car takes off through a vacuum tube.

9 thoughts on “Scene it on Friday – ANH Scene #45

  1. ANH Luke is similar to people I’ve worked with at summer camp who come straight out of high school and have little idea of the larger world. Luke of the later trilogy is the post-freshman year Luke who has a little more life experience, and is a far more responsible and grown up person. Also, he does whine a bit when he lands on Dagobah.

    • Yeah, that’s a good point about whining on Dagobah: “Ben, tell him I’m ready!”
      By the start of ROTJ, Luke has lost: his aunt and uncle, his mentor, his best friend, several pilots under his command, his hand, and any delusions he had about his father being a hero. If that’s not enough to sober a person up, I don’t know what is! 🙂

      I think you are right about the EU having “serious” Luke. But one book that I thought showed Luke’s development really well was “Choices of One” by Tim Zahn, who writes the OT characters better than any other EU author. It’s set between ANH and ESB, so Luke is still naive and figuring out the Jedi thing.

      • Oh my goodness, you guys are so right about the whining on Dagobah! How did I forget that? Ok, I kind of retract my point.
        L. Palmer – I like your college analogy. Super amusing, and definitely has truth to it.
        Mei Mei – thanks for pointing out everyone he has lost. It definitely sobers people up, but is it really that much of a turnaround? Thanks for the book suggestion. Now that I’m reading an EU book a year, I feel like I have a lot to get through.

    • Interesting. That’s what you think he’s doing? I always thought he was moving the hand back and forth in a gesture of saying, “Find another elevator. Can’t come in this one cuz we’re full.”

      • Haha, honestly I don’t think HE knows what he’s doing 🙂

        You’re probably right. I’m not sure I’d get in a tiny elevator with a Wookie prisoner in any case…

  2. Pingback: Scene it on Friday – ANH Scene #45 | Tinseltown Times

  3. Pingback: Book Review: Choices of One | Star Wars Anonymous

Use Your Comlink...

