April Haiku Month – Recap

I wanted to give a little recap on my haiku month since a lot of you guys were super excited about it. I only forgot to write a haiku one day last month!  That is so impressive and the best 30 day challenge of the past four months.  I’ve already not played guitar 5 days this month…3 were impossible since I was traveling, but I have no excuse for the other two days.  Le sigh.

Things I noticed and learned:

  • I began thinking in haiku’s often while in my daily life.
  • Star Wars haiku’s were way more fun than my “life” haiku’s.
  • If it wasn’t for my snapshot daily Star Wars calendar that created my inspiration, I don’t think the Star Wars haiku’s would have been as interesting.

What I could have improved upon:

  • Writing a real haiku.  Hear me out on this: in school we learned haiku’s are written in three lines with 5, 7, 5 syllables respectively.  But when you research it further, it’s a lot deeper than that.  It’s a poem that has juxtaposition within it.  Wikipedia defines it: “The essence of haiku is “cutting” (kiru). This is often represented by the juxtaposition of two images or ideas and a kireji (“cutting word”) between them, a kind of verbal punctuation mark which signals the moment of separation and colors the manner in which the juxtaposed elements are related.”  Sometimes I did well and succeeded in creating this; most times I was lazy and just stuck to 5, 7, 5.
  • Haikus often create visual images in your mind and are related to nature.  That would have been a little hard for Star Wars, but I could have tried harder with my daily life.

I feel that if I stuck to the true definition of haikus, it would have been a greater challenge for me.  However, the point of this 30 day resolution was to write something everyday and to actually focus on what I was writing, as opposed to just throwing out thoughts like I usually do.  In that, I succeeded.  There were some haiku’s that actually took longer than you probably thought.  My notepad at work is full of scribbles and rewrites.  There was also a lot of frustration when I had the PERFECT line, but it came out to 8 syllables with no way for me to keep it’s essence and change it to 7 syllables.

lol haiku

Noticeable Stats:

  • Most viewed haiku of the month was from April 24th, the one about the Ewoks.  It also created an interesting discussion within the comments about whether the Ewoks scenario in ROTJ is realistic.
  • Most commented upon haiku (and now my most commented post EVER) was the haiku from April 10th, regarding Count Dooku.  I have 32 comments on that post, including my own, regarding Count Dooku.  This has inspired me to write another post later regarding all the Siths.
  • I got 18 more followers on my blog from this haiku month. I actually feel kind of bad, because I think most of these people are expecting haiku’s and may unfollow after a few more of my posts (lol) but I’ll take what I can!  🙂  Hopefully one or two will stick around for the love of Star Wars.

Time to start thinking of a writing goal for 2015!  I liked the haiku’s because though it took more effort on my part, I didn’t have to devote tons of time on them.  I was still able to keep up with my normal blog posts, for the most part.  I don’t think I could ever do NaNoWriMo because I don’t have time to write that much.  I do like poetry though; it’s really fun.  So maybe next year I’ll write rhyming poems.  Any suggestions are appreciated…

can-you-haiku-web

6 thoughts on “April Haiku Month – Recap

  1. Maybe you could do a haiku to go with your Friday Scenes?
    I’m glad the haiku’s worked out so well for you. However, I’ve spent the whole month trying to figure out when I suggested doing them. Was it a comment on your New Years Resolution Post? Anyways, I appreciate the shout outs, and look forward to whatever comes next.

    • LOL that’s hilarious. Yes, in December of last year, I wrote about how I was going to do a year of monthly resolutions and I asked for suggestions. A lot of people gave great suggestions, but I liked yours of a haiku-a-day because it was challenging, but not time consuming and also forced me to write everyday. Hahahaha. I’m still laughing out loud because I probably shouted out to you twice this month about it…

Use Your Comlink...

