Scene it on Friday – ROTS Scene #141

darth sidious order 66

AWESOME.  This scene is just so … life changing.  I was nervous when I got ROTS again on random.com since most of their scenes are two sentences with no depth.  This is a short scene as well, but damn, it’s not lacking.  There are tons of Order 66 scenes, but this scene specifically is the one on Kashyyyk, right before the clones try to kill Yoda.

Okay, so if you know me at all – you know that I try to stay relatively spoiler free for every movie.  The only spoilers I read about are in the Star Wars Insider.  I do it so that I have few expectations going in and I have no preconceived notions of what will unravel within the plot.  I don’t mind finding out about casting and character names, but I don’t know every detail of the plot like some do.

So believe it or not, I had no idea how they were going to kill of all the Jedi.  No clue.  I didn’t know the clones would turn on the Jedi, though I guess if I really spent time thinking about it, maybe I could have pieced it together.

When Order 66 ended up being executed, it was such a surprise to me to just see how easily the Jedi were killed off.  I guess I was expecting some dramatic showdown with lightsabers out and fighting to the death.  But this Order was so perfectly planned to catch the Jedi unawares, you really have to hand it to Palpatine.

The more I write on this blog and go deeper into the Saga, the more I realize that Palpatine is one dude you don’t want to mess with.   All his domino pieces line up so perfectly that when the time comes for him to persuade Anakin to turn to the dark side, all he has to do is push the first piece and they all go cascading down.  It’s kind of like this:

There are a lot of moments that changed the course of the entire Saga, but I’m inclined to believe that this could be one of the bigger ones.  This scene and all the scenes that surround Order 66 transition the Saga from the Prequels to the Original Trilogy.

Another interesting thing to note, since this is the Order 66 from Sidious regarding Yoda…Commander Gree is one of the few clone troopers to fail in his task.  Yes, so did Commander Cody, but Cody thought that Obi-Wan was dead so believed he had fulfilled the order.  Gree flat out failed.  He tried, but Yoda was too fast and killed him and the others surrounding him.

By the way – in the next scene, is this the first and only time we ever see Yoda actually kill anyone in the movies?

execute order 66

INTERIOR: CORUSCANT-CHANCELLOR’S OFFICE-NIGHT 

DARTH SIDIOUS stands alone in his private office, illuminated only from a hologram projector beam from above. A small HOLOGRAM OF COMMANDER GREE stands in front of him.

CLONE COMMANDER GREE: Yes, My Lord.

DARTH SIDIOUS: The time has come. Execute Order Sixty-Six.

Use Your Comlink...

