Haiku 04.10.14

Can we talk about Count Dooku for a few?  I don’t think I’ve ever written about how I feel regarding his character.  Do any of you actually like him?  I’ve always been an anti-Count Dooku girl as I find him so boring.  I was so annoyed that he was still alive at the end of AOTC and we had to see him in the next movie.  I loved Darth Maul because he was scary, intense, and an amazing duelist.  I was disappointed he did not live longer.  With Dooku, I saw that George was going for a sophisticated ex-Jedi, but my main problem is that I never felt fear when seeing him on screen.  Even when he shot lightening at Yoda, it didn’t feel genuinely scary.  Does that mean antagonists in Star Wars always have to look frightful?  Maybe.  Maybe that’s what I have gotten used to.  Hey – if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.  If it’s working, why change it?

But if anyone out there genuinely likes Count Dooku and is a fan, please let me know.  I’m curious as to what draws you to him and what is appealing.

Count Dooku bores me Hoping for a better Sith In the next movie

Count Dooku bores me
Hoping for a better Sith
In the next movie

Life:

Up much too early
So many hours at work
And I am still here

34 thoughts on “Haiku 04.10.14

  1. I didn’t care for Count Dooku that much either. Darth Sidious, Darth Maul and of course Darth Vader all were dark, menacing beings. I guess what I like the most about these three is the fact that they didn’t have to say much in order to put fear in those around them. Dooku just didn’t seem to have that same affect on others.

    I heard George Lucas was actually considering making the sith a female at first. I think it would have been kind of interesting to have a female sith.

    to have a female villian

    • And yes, you are correct – Dooku, in the very early stages of AOTC storyline, was supposed to be a female sith lord. They took the concept drawings and later made it Asajj Ventress in The Clone Wars.

  2. Yeah, Count Dooku is not very good in terms of story; he just doesn’t really work. But I kinda can overlook that because Christopher Lee is so awesome!

    • Dooku was critical to the creation of the clone army to be used by the Republic. Palpatine couldn’t order the creation of the army because he would be recognizable, and Maul looks nothing like a Jedi. But Dooku, being a former Jedi, was perfectly suited to working with the Kaminoans to create the clone army so that everyone (including the Kaminoans) would think that the Jedi wanted the clone army.

      • You make a good point. Still think the character is boring and there could have been a lot more. On the subject of a female sith – why not a female sith who was once a Jedi?

        • Yeah, logically the plot’s ok, but we the audience have virtually no emotional investment in anything Dooku does. I have no idea why he’s working with Sidious, and I really don’t care. It’s the same problem I have with Maul (but at least Maul had a cool lightsaber). I don’t know why they wanted a different sub-villain for each prequel movie, but don’t think it worked.

  3. I agree with Mei-Mei–Christopher Lee is awesome. And maybe you’re right about Dooku being too polished to be intimidating. (Mentally substitute Sauruman for a moment. There is something to be said about the long hair and occasionally crazed look.) Also, he has a lightsaber duel with a tiny, old, computer-generated alien. Can you really be afraid of someone who picks on the little guy, even if he is a great Jedi master?

    • As Sauruman – he was amazing. I think Christopher Lee was perfect for that role. I just can’t take him seriously as Dooku in AOTC. Plus, his name is DOOKU. Please. DOOKU. How can you take anyone seriously with that name?

        • Reminds me of JK Rowling and how some of her names have a basis in the latin language and if you knew the language, you would understand the meaning of the names. Or look at Suzanne Collins with the hunger games and how the names of all the citizens in the capital are ancient Roman names. My sister hates how obvious the names and the insinuation of them are, but I enjoy it.

          • I also enjoy the use of Latin-based names — it has led to the introduction of many great Sith names! My favorite Latin-based Sith name is Nihilus, which is just a perfect Sith name and particularly perfect for the Sith who used the name (it’s also related to my handle, which also has a Latin root).

            • Nihilus…don’t think I’ve heard of him. I looked him up on Wookiepedia. Is he from a game? Looks like it. That’s even worse. My knowledge of Star Wars games is surface level only.

              But man – he looks scary! And I do love the name as well. I had to look it up because with I thought it may be similar to annihilate. But I see it means “nothing”, “no concern”, “nonentity”, which is interesting based on just the picture I’m looking at on Wookiepedia. The mask perhaps creating a nonentity? Or is it a lot more complicated than that? I’m thinking the latter….

  4. The best thing about Dooku is that he was a Jedi Master when he turned to the dark side. And trained by Yoda, no less. He’s a huge slap in the face to the Jedi, which is always a plus in my book.

    He was a pretty good swordsman, too. He twice fought Anakin and Obi-Wan with only a single-bladed lightsaber — whereas Maul had the advantage of a double-bladed lightsaber. Yes, he lost the second duel (even then only after Anakin grew angry and practically drew on the dark side), but it’s still impressive that one old Sith held up pretty well against two younger Jedi. Again, a nice slap in the face to the Jedi.

    • I really have no argument for all your points, except you don’t think he’s a little boring? The character’s actions are fine, even the plot surrounding him, but the character itself (demeanor, way of talking, etc) are lackluster to me. Maybe it is Christopher Lee…but it goes beyond that. Lucas specifically chose someone sophisticated to show this ex-Jedi who is still polished and refined, but on the dark side…and I just yawn whenever he’s on screen. The only thing exciting about the lightsaber fights were the other characters.

      • I do think Tyranus is the most boring of the Sith Lords from the films. He’s certainly the least iconic. Christopher Lee is a great actor and did a good job with the less physical parts of the role, but he’s quite old so it strains the imagination to see him dueling. I don’t know if you noticed before, but in the duel between him and Anakin and Obi-Wan on Geonosis there are fairly long parts where you basically just see lightsaber blades waving around in darkness — quite boring and cheesy, especially after the lightsaber duel with Darth Maul on Naboo.

        • Oh, I totally noticed lightsaber blades just “waving around” (good way to put it). I remember thinking it was cool when I first saw it in theaters, but it doesn’t hold up well over time. I’m no longer impressed with it. I feel like people admire Lee so much, that they fear saying bad things about him. I think he was miscast. Did the best he could, but in all honesty I don’t think he did the role justice and it could have been done much better by someone else.

          I think we are in fair agreement. I agree with you that the character had essential parts to play, I just didn’t like the portrayal.

            • Oh gosh. I have been struggling with that and trying to figure it out since this topic came up this morning. I really am leaning towards a female. Imagine the subtleties played about by this ex-Jedi, very elegant, but conniving and machiavellian underneath it all. And a lightsaber battle between Anakin and Obi-Wan would be amazing. Let me think on this.

              • I’ve never seen a movie with her in it so I can’t say. She seems too young for a Jedi Master, though — she’s younger than me! I was thinking someone more like Cate Blanchett — old enough to be a Jedi Master but younger and more athletic than Christopher Lee.

                • I was thinking Ksenia looks wise, but older. However, there are some shots I saw of her where they changed her makeup and she did look drastically older. I think I was just going for someone with the right facial features, so that even if they made her an alien – I could imagine her as once being a Jedi.

                  I do like the Cate Blanchett idea. Her transformation in Fellowship of the Ring makes me wish she had more sinister roles.

                  • I’ve just seen Ksenia’s IMDb photos and she looks too young in them. She’s younger than both of us (born October 1987).

                    I thought of Cate Blanchett because she’s a good age for what I think the character would have to be, and she’s had some regal roles which would also make her a good fit for a Jedi Master and Count(ess).

  5. Count Dooku is a pitiful waste of Christopher Lee. If the films had better writing and took more care to set up characters and set up mood and tension, it would have been better. Have you ever seen Lee’s old Hammer films, where he would play Dracula? He was frightening. Huge, noble, and terrifying. He could just stand in a doorway and you would gasp. Most importantly, he was set up properly with good film making and good writing.

    They just don’t make films the way they used to!

    • I’ve heard so many good things about his Horror of Dracula, but have not seen it yet (I cannot watch horror films, even old ones, I’m much too affected). And I agree – AOTC, where he played his most prominent role, had HORRIBLE writing. I used to tell people that in defense of AOTC when they would talk about how bad it was. But now I just give in and agree that AOTC is a horrible Star Wars film, namely because the writing is halting, awkward, and doesn’t flow well. It was also a waste of Natalie Portman and Ewan McGregor. Both fabulous actors, but their talent was not utilized well enough until ROTS.

      • “Horror of Dracula” is a fabulous film. Are you sure you can’t even start watching the beginning? I absolutely despise modern horror films, but I adore Hammer’s work. It’s just so…charming.

        I think the scripts are what really did it in for the prequel films. It’s a shame. Let’s hope Episode VII has more sophisticated language beyond “I don’t like sand”. 🙂

        • Well, this is the problem: What if I started the movie and then got horribly scared? My imagination works overtime normally, so horror movies are just not good with me. I watched Vertigo the other day, and I was okay for most of it, but once the TV was off I definitely got slightly creeped out because I was thinking about it too much. So I don’t know. I try not to take any chances.

  6. Pingback: April Haiku Month – Recap | Star Wars Anonymous

  7. Pingback: The Highs, The Lows, and The Books I Read In Between (2014) | Star Wars Anonymous

Use Your Comlink...

