Haiku 04.01.14

Vegetarian month is over.  Phew.  You know, it wasn’t too bad, but there were times when I was really frustrated and tired and didn’t feel like cutting up a bunch of veggies to make dinner.  I just wanted to throw some meat on a pan or in the oven and be done with it.  However, I think this was a good detox for my body and I didn’t cheat, forget, or mess up once!  I’ve done vegetarian spells before and I would always make mistakes (like getting samples of meat in the food court at the mall, or eating a sandwich with meat before remembering), but this time I can safely say that the full 31 days went by without one mishap.

And now it’s April.  My birthday month…and also haiku a day month.  My goal is to write one random one, and one related to Star Wars.  So really, two a day.  Bear with me.  Hopefully they will get better as the month continues, because that’s the goal, right?  *clears throat*

Is this April Fools?
Haikus are starting today
Not sure I’m ready…

Okay, I’ll wait for your round of applause to be done.  Thank you, thank you.  The Star Wars one was hard but after a few minutes of brainstorming, here is the first Star War haiku of the month!

Dark side clouded sight Only two Jedi remained At end of Clone Wars

Dark side clouded sight
Only two Jedi remained
At end of Clone Wars

I realized that the way you speak makes a big difference on attempting to form haikus.  For instance, the word “beautiful” in my mind, is three syllables.  But properly pronounced, it would probably be four syllables.  Our dialect has merged “be-au” into one syllable: “bue”, thus making it three syllables.

Anyway, I’ll work all that out later.  Let the haikus commence!

4 thoughts on “Haiku 04.01.14

  1. Experimenting with haikus sounds a lot more fun than experimenting with a vegetarian diet. Though, you can’t know you don’t like something until you try it.
    Look forward to more haikus, I will.

    • Haha, this is all because of you! Suggestions like this always sound fun until you have to put them into practice. I think it will be good for me though and I’m hoping I can keep it up for all 30 days 🙂 Stay tuned…

Use Your Comlink...

