Where To Start?

There’s so much I’ve wanted to write about these past few weeks, but I don’t even know where to start.

In personal news – I’m thinking of starting my own business.  And by “thinking”, I mean, I’m actually in the process of looking everything up and I’m pretty serious about it.  I’m going to launch my own Virtual Assistant business where hopefully I’ll be getting my own clients and helping them with various administrative, creative, and organizational tasks.  All online and all from a home office…so essentially I’ll be running an online business.

This came about from reading Lean In and realizing that though women are gaining equality in the workplace, equality also comes from understanding unique differences in men and women and providing for them.  In this increasingly online world, corporate offices should be able to provide more flexibility to women (and men) who may want to take care of their children, but still be able to work the full eight hours required.  I understand that not every employee can work online, but often in my Executive Assistant career, the people I support have been absent more than present.  High profile execs are constantly traveling, and my job has unintentionally turned virtual for the majority of the time.

In my ideal world, if I have children, I would love to go to work from 8-1:00pm, come home and spend time with my children, and hop back online around 7 or 8pm for a few hours to finish working, while my husband puts the kids to bed.  And still get a full time salary for my work.  I just want the flexibility to be a working mother on my own terms.

Here in the suburbs of Boston, one month of childcare for one child is equal to my paycheck for a month.  Get that?   Wow.  So I could not work, and our income would still be the same.  This really got me thinking.  I love to work, I really do.  But for the time period in my life when I have young children, why would I pay someone else to take care of my children when I can do it myself and break even?  Why not still try to work, bring in money, but also take care of my children?

I don’t know if this will actually work, or if I’ll even get clients and be able to maintain a good income.  But it’s better than not bringing in anything and I feel like if I don’t try this venture out now…by the time I have children, I’ll be too busy and frazzled to try to start my own business.

This is clearly what my life will be like when my business is up and running. HA. HA.

This is clearly what my life will be like when my business is up and running. HA. HA.

Needless to say, I’ve been slightly overwhelmed as I try to juggle my full-time job and getting my VA business up and running on the side.  There’s so much to do!  So this blog has been slightly neglected as I focus my attention elsewhere, but I hope no one has really noticed.

Now onto Star Wars news!

Since my last update on Star Wars Rebels, there have been a few larger developments.  We now know the main crew of Ghost: Ezra Bridger, Hera Syndulla, Zeb Orrelios, Sabine Wren, Chopper, and former Jedi Kanan Jarrus.

Ezra Bridger is a human con artist and thief who has Force sensitivities.  Unknowingly, he’s used the Force to help him get out of situations before.  Kind of sounds like The Boy Who Lived, huh?

ezra bridger

Hera Syndulla is a Twi’lek!!  YAY.  I was all for seeing some Twi’lek love and super happy to see them finally getting some awesome screen time.  She’s the owner and pilot of Ghost.  Hera is described as the “heart” of the crew, “keeping the group together and bringing the best out of them.”  She owns Chopper and known to be independent, strong-willed and determined.

Hera_Syndulla

Zeb Orrelios is known as the muscle of the crew.  His species is a Lasat, and the species is based on early concept drawings that Ralph McQuarrie did of Chewbacca.  Though Zeb is trained as a warrior, he is also educated.

zeb orrelios

Sabine Wren is a Mandalorian who specializes in explosives, and is also a graffiti artist.  She is described as “spunky and feisty”.

sabine wren

Former Jedi Kanan Jarrus is a human who survived Order 66 and is in hiding (obviously).  He ends up mentoring Ezra in the ways of the Force and serves as the Ghost crew’s leader.

Your lightsaber is a dead giveaway, dude.

Your blue lightsaber is a dead giveaway, dude.

Female fans were a little upset that after all the hype around female characters in Rebels, there are only two so far, and they don’t seem to be main characters either.  My guess is that Ezra and Kanan will be the leads, with the rest playing supporting roles.   However, I think having Hera as a female pilot is great (kind of reminiscent of Starbuck in BSG) and I’m very interested to see what Sabine brings to the mix.  A talented graffiti artist who specializes in explosives?  I didn’t expect that.  Nor did I expect any artist to play a prominent role on a Rebel ship, so this could be a good thing for children to see.  It’s emphasizing that not everyone in this world is pure muscle and combat…you can also be creative and bring something to the mix.

There’s a rumor that Billy Dee Williams could be lending his voice to Rebels but reports are mixed on that (by the way – it was just announced today that he will be on the next season of Dancing with the Stars).  It’s worth noting that he IS listed on the IMDB page as a voice in Star Wars Rebels.  This rumor comes from when he was at Rhode Island Comic Con and said he would be a voice in a Netflix show called Rebels.  Netflix is not airing Rebels, so maybe he is in some of the unaired episodes of the Clone Wars?  Or he’s just darn confused since he’s 76 years old (can you believe that?!).

Which brings me to my next update…

The complete series of The Clone Wars is airing on Netflix this Friday, March 7th.  I already have a calendar reminder set up.  This also means the final episodes, “The Lost Missions”, that we haven’t seen are also airing with it.  Yay.  I can’t wait to check it out.   I’ve read up on The Lost Missions and been spoiled (why didn’t they write “spoiler alert”??) on some of the plot, which has bummed me out, but I’m still excited to see it.  I’ll let you guys know what I think…

TCW the lost missions

Finally, there are a lot of rumors swirling out there in regards to Episode VII casting.  People are swearing up and down that Adam Driver has been named the villain and that the original three are returning, but just as a reminder – until we actually hear it from LFL or Disney, they’re just rumors.  However, we are getting really close to official casting reveals!  Filming begins this May so they should already have some leads nailed down by now.

I’m the type that until it’s confirmed, I try not to get excited about anything.  What’s the point if we don’t know for sure?  I get excited knowing that something big is coming…like knowing that we’ll have some casting updates soon.

Have you guys been paying attention to the rumors?  Do you get excited or are you blasé about everything?

6 thoughts on “Where To Start?

  1. First, good luck with your business! It’s a lot of work, but could be great once you have a family.

    Second, I’m excited to see how Star Wars Rebels turns out.

    Third, Billy Dee Williams on Dancing With The Stars should be amazing.

    • Third, lol…but he’s 77!! I’m not sure he’ll last very long. However – maybe the suave Lando will show up and blow us all away.

      Second, I’m getting more excited about Rebels the more I hear about it.

      First, hopefully it’ll turn out alright and all my wildest dreams come true haha.

  2. I promise I’m gonna watch The Clone Wars when it gets on Netflix. I even got the movie out of the library to prepare.
    I’m trying to reserve judgement on Rebels until I see it. Some things sound really promising, but could just devolve into flat characters and nonsensical plots. Kind of how I feel about Ep VII, too…

    • I actually hated the movie. HATED it. It turned me off of TCW for a long time. So just as a warning…in case you don’t like the movie, try the show anyway.
      Dave Filoni is also working on Rebels, as is Greg Weisman, and I’ve enjoyed both their work on animated TV shows so far. So I’m hoping that will make it good!

  3. You should definitely start your own business and I am a staunch supporter of leveraging technology to work remotely, especially from home. Good luck. I have some more thoughts to share but those might be better in a PM.

    • Oh, I’d love to hear your thoughts! It’s a big step and I’m very nervous, plus plagued with a lot of self doubts. Do you have experience with running an online business? Feel free to put your thoughts in the contact form under the “connect” tab at the top of my blog if you’d like.

Use Your Comlink...

