Help? And Scene it on Friday – TPM Scene #98

Screen Shot 2013-12-13 at 12.35.17 PM

Before I start my analysis on this scene, I need some help.  I’m trying to make my next year, 2014, one of twelve 30-day resolutions.  So instead of having a resolution for the whole year, I want to think of some more meaningful ones that I do for one month instead.  It doesn’t even have to be 30 days straight – for instance, for the month of February my goal is to do yoga at least three times a week.  Does anyone have any ideas?  I’m missing 7 months of resolutions, sigh.  Maybe I should make a resolution to get this resolution list done by December 31st, haha.  Please let me know if you can think of anything!  The only prerequisite is that it has to help you grow as a person either physically, mentally, or spiritually.

So far, I have:

  1. Prayer and reading the Bible everyday
  2. Eating vegetarian for 30 days
  3. Yoga at least three times a week
  4. Play guitar everyday
  5. Gratitude days.  (Writing three things I’m thankful for everyday)

And now I’m stuck!  I’ve been debating on giving a compliment to someone different everyday or possibly not nagging my husband for 30 days (I’d have to set parameters for that on what counts as nagging)…Thoughts anyone?  Maybe taking 30 days of interesting photos?  But what constitutes as “interesting” when you’re basically in an office for 9 hours a day?

Okay, help me out if you have any ideas!

Naboo N-1 Starfighter cross sections

Onto the scene…

I never really appreciated how cute Artoo was when I was younger.  I just looked at him as another character.  But as I’ve grown older, all his little chirps, beeps, and whistles are just SO adorable.  He kind of reminds me of my Parrolet when she tries to talk with us: you’ll say something and she will give a series of chirps back.  She has a chirp for when she’s angry, excited, and content.  It’s adorable, like Artoo.

I am a little confused about the autopilot.  It’s taking them TO the Trade Federation Battleship, correct?  Wookiepedia says:

The N-1 starfighter was also equipped with an advanced autopilot that could receive navigational information from hangar outlets or from Naboo flight control. In a crisis, the autopilot could bring the craft to the site of an emergency or pilot the ship home safely.

So this would be considered “the site of an emergency”, I’m guessing.  It’s probably receiving the information from the hangar outlets, since that’s where they came from.

It seems a little weird to me that there’s an autopilot taking you to danger.  That would not make me feel good psychologically.  I understand that the pilots are trained for danger and possible death and this is their job…but still.  What if I turn chicken and want to run away?  I can’t do that because of this damn autopilot.  It’s strangely controlling.  I guess if you have a super useful droid like Artoo, you’re in luck and can dash off whenever you want.

There is a full size prop in Boston’s very own Museum of Science.  The first time I saw it hanging from the ceiling, I was basically peeing myself, I was so excited.  I have a picture on my old phone but it’s so old that I definitely can’t post it here.  You can look at this one instead and pretend it’s me that took the photo:

naboo starfighter mos boston

INTERIOR: NABOO STARFIGHTER – COCKPIT – SPACE

A giant dogfight ensues. ANAKIN’s fighter flies into space above Naboo.  ARTOO beeps a worried concern.

ANAKIN: The Autopilot is searching for what other ships?

ARTOO beeps and whistles.

ANAKIN: (Cont’d) There is no manual override, Artoo. You’ll have to rewire it or something.

ARTOO chirps that he’s trying.

ANAKIN: (cont’d) Look! There they are! That’s where the autopilot is taking us.

ANAKIN’s fighter flies toward the Federation Battleship.

10 thoughts on “Help? And Scene it on Friday – TPM Scene #98

  1. You could try writing a haiku about your day every day for 30 days, or blog every day for 30 days, or have at least one conversation a day while pretending to be Yoda. Maybe you should look at doing one with writing – maybe a smaller goal than NaNo if you’re too busy, but something to get you going.

  2. one suggestion I have is to take a short class, like making stained glass, or pottery, or wood crafting (or all three). Another suggestion would be to pick one month and train for a 5K race.

    • Thanks Icarus! You have a good suggestion with the class, I’ll just have to find one that is not too expensive. I’d like to develop myself creatively, because I don’t consider myself a very creative person with my hands. I will take a look around and see what I can find…

      I can’t run, unfortunately, due to knee surgery 4 years ago so I’m often very careful with the knee. I can do non-impact stuff, but not running so that’s out. 😦

      • sorry to hear about the knee. I had mine scoped a couple years ago and I’m not supposed to run “a lot”. I’m probably running more than I should but cannot help it. It would be like a doctor saying you shouldn’t write too much about Star Wars…where would you draw the line?

        Another suggestion. If there is a language you’ve always wanted to learn, you could pick one month and every day learn a new word from it.

  3. I love this idea. I’d think its a lot more tangible to say you’re going to try this or that for one month than to say, “I’m going to spend 2014 improving (insert random skill).”

    That being said, let’s see… How about spending a month writing Thank You notes? Its a little different than just expressing gratitude for things, and I’ve always loved this story of a guy who did that for a full year: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2010/12/29/365-thank-you-cards-a-yea_n_802388.html

    Otherwise, what about spending a month getting educated and maybe taking action for some social justice causes? Right now I’m on Day 16 of my “DecemBeard” to support a local organization that fights human trafficking. There are great resources available about trafficking or the global water crisis or the inequality of wealth distribution, among many, many others.

    And of course you should try to mix in some fun ones! Like say… slipping a Star Wars quote into conversation for 30 consecutive days! My personal favorite is “We’re all fine here now, thank you. How are you?” 🙂

    • Wow, the thank you note idea is amazing! Question is…do I have the balls to do it? I guess just for one month would not be too hard.

      Oh, I use Star Wars lingo/lines in almost all of my daily language, so I don’t think that challenge would be too hard, haha. The most commonly used is “You’ll find I’m full of surprises”.

      As for social justice, I should try to get involved in raising money for something or doing something that’s near and dear to my heart. I just have to figure out what it is. I’m a big supporter of ending tinnitus, since I have it really badly in my left ear, but I guess I’d have to find out if they do anything I can be involved with other than just donating money.

  4. Do you cook at all? I would want to try some new recipes for dinner, or baking. I am not a great cook but would love to improve. Good luck with your resolutions! I think your method is a great idea.

    • I do cook a lot! Homemade meals almost every night. I’m always trying new recipes, so I guess that makes that resolution harder. That’s why I threw in doing vegetarian for a month, because that will be more of a challenge for me.

      I would definitely do the baking thing if my husband would actually eat sweets. Grrr…whenever I bake, I end up taking most of the stuff to church because we both can’t eat, say, 24 cupcakes on our own.

      I almost have 12 resolutions from online research and the suggestions here. So if you think of anything else, please let me know!

Use Your Comlink...

