I Have to Interrupt NaNoWriMo For a Second…

I know WordPress is all about NaNoWriMo right now, but I’m not participating (even though I really should), so my post is going to be completely off the beaten track.

OR NOT.  Because my post is about Star Wars and I’d be doing a huge injustice writing about something unrelated.  Sigh.  I’m just trying to find excuses for my Epic Novel that will never get done.

Anyway, back to the real subject at hand.  I’m interrupting NaNoWriMo to talk about Episode VII’s release date and an update on the writers.  This was announced a week ago but between hosting someone at my house and starting my new job, I haven’t really been able to write about it.

First of all: Episode VII will be released on December 18, 2015.  This is a change from all the other Star Wars films, which have been released in May.

star-wars-episode-vii-logo-2

My first thought was, Oh no.  Oh no, no no no no.  You see, up here in Massachusetts, December is cold. In fact, in the evening, it often gets below 32º so you are, no pun intended, freezing!  So if I decided to go to the midnight showing (which I was planning to before I heard about the December opening), I would probably be outside in line for many hours cold.  And if you know me, you know I hate being cold.

Furthermore, why are they pushing it all the way into December?  There are two reasons, one that most people believe and one that I’ve speculated upon.

The majority of the Internet thinks the reason for the push back on the date is that the second Avengers movie is being released in May of 2015.  Though also released by Disney, it would be too much in one month and they wanted to rake in the most money possible by releasing them both separately, far enough apart that there are not conflicting interests.

Secondly, and this is what I found interesting, is that when Disney announced the release date, they said,

We’re very excited to share the official 2015 release date for Star Wars: Episode VII, where it will not only anchor the popular holiday filmgoing season but also ensure our extraordinary filmmaking team has the time needed to deliver a sensational picture.

Ensure they have the time to deliver a sensational picture?  This semi-lines up with the second bit of news: Michael Arndt has left the writing process of Episode VII and J.J. Abrams and Lawrence Kasdan have taken over.  Abrams claims he’s out of the process because the script was not getting done fast enough.

michael arndtSo does that mean that Arndt was slowing the development so much that they had to push the release date back to the end of the year?  That’s one of my guesses and I believe it more than the other reason of conflicting Disney movies being released the same month.  But if they need more time to make a fabulous movie, then by all means, take your time.

However, I’m hoping that there are still many traces Arndt’s writing left in Episode VII because I was a huge fan of him being on board.  I think he’s a great writer and I felt so confident it would be a good movie with his penmanship behind it.

As for my new job that I started this week, let me tell you guys…I am pooped.  overwhelmed at workThank God tomorrow is Friday.  I can’t believe how draining starting a new job is.  And learning a Mac has been so much more difficult than I thought.  There are way more differences between it and a PC that have made my first few days frustrating.  I’m ready to sleep this weekend.  I also wanted to thank you all last week for the wonderful words of encouragement you gave!  I appreciated it immensely.

 

5 thoughts on “I Have to Interrupt NaNoWriMo For a Second…

    • Haha, this is a huge internal debate for me, but I like how quickly you made your decision. It’s agonizing me right now and it’s more than 2 years away! To go…and be cold…but see Star Wars first? Or, go the day after and be warm?

      • Maybe it’s because it’s so far away that I haven’t gotten excited enough for it. We also don’t know much about it. I suppose if the trailer looks really exciting I might want to see it badly enough to tough out the cold.

  1. I’m still hopeful for the movie. I am sure the framework Arndt was building will still be there. However, he was hired before Abrams was, and in Hollywood a change in screenwriter isn’t that unusual. All three men who are or have worked on writing the film have good pedigree, and I am hopeful the movie will have a solid stories and characters.
    Here’s dreaming, still, that there will be a strong female lead, like a Jedi version of Katniss.

    • We can still dream! I would love it if the first movie came out with a female protagonist, but I know that since there will be so many more, at least one of them will have a female lead. RIGHT DISNEY?!

Use Your Comlink...

