Once Upon A Time…

If you were introducing the fabulous story of Star Wars to your children or to someone who has never seen the movies before (gasp!), which movie would you start with?  Would you start with the original movie released in theaters, Episode IV: A New Hope, or would you start chronologically with Episode I: The Phantom Menace?

This is a tough question and it was actually brought to my attention by my 17 year old brother the other day.  For me, the answer was obvious.  Episode IV, of course.  No question about it.  So it was to my big surprise when my brother exclaimed, “No way!  Episode I!”

After this discussion (and by “discussion”, I mean vehement arguing), I began wondering if other people thought non-fans should be introduced to Star Wars through TPM.  It turns out, after questioning some folks, a lot of other people agree with my brother.

Really?  TPM?!  So I started thinking about it in earnest and trying to list pros and cons of starting with each movie.  Because that’s what I do, I make lists.  Deal with it.

Episode I: The Phantom Menace

phantom menace blend

Pros
1.  Better CGI/more modern look.  No arguing there.  Scenes that pop to mind are anything with battle droids, the travel through the planet core (“There’s always a bigger fish”), and Jar Jar Binks.  Ships and battles are more modern.  For someone jumping in, it might be in your benefit to show them something that looks slicker and faster.
2.  Cooler lightsaber battle.  Yes, I love the battle of TPM, as anyone who read my post that reviewed lightsaber battles knows.
3.  More recognizable actors and actresses.  If you’re trying to convert a random person, it’s probably easier to list off Liam Neeson, Samuel L. Jackson, and Natalie Portman.

Cons
1.  A lot of talking.  There’s a lot of politics, Trade Federation mumbo jumbo, and senate squabbling to slug through.  It can just get downright confusing.  I think it took me at least four or five times as a 12 year old to understand what was going on.  I never realized this until I was watching TPM with a child who had only seen The Clone Wars.  He was so excited to watch Star Wars, but was bored through at least 60% of it.
3.  Lack of character depth.  When you can’t understand the politics, the characters should at least keep you interested.  But this movie really lacks empathy for the characters and a level of human understanding.  And how can you relate to Jar Jar Binks?  Definitely no character development with him.
4.  By starting with TPM and going chronologically, you find out that ANAKIN IS LUKE AND LEIA’S FATHER.  You miss out on the delightful surprise that rocked the world in Episode V.  I think that is often a main argument for people against starting in chronological order.

Episode IV: A New Hope

A New Hope blend

Pros
1.  Great characters!  You fall in love with them immediately.  Han’s wise comments, Leia’s rebuttal, Luke’s innocence, and the classic story of a boy going on a journey/quest.  They are funny and even though they are in a galaxy far, far away…they are also relatable.
2.  Cool, mysterious bad guy.  Darth Vader is as bad as bad can get.  To top it off, he has an interesting breathing problem and keeps you wondering if he’s part machine, part human.  But the mysteriousness that shrouds him, makes him more frightening.  There’s a reason he is ranked #3 on AFI’s top villain list.
3.  Classic story of good versus bad.  This storyline is easy to understand.  There’s a big, bad Empire ruling the galaxy with an oppressive thumb.  Then there’s the underdog, a group known as the Rebellion who are determined to take down the Empire though the odds are against them.  And while watching this trilogy, you find out a huge revelation in Episode V, and you’re SURPRISED.  Unlike if you watch it chronologically.

Cons
1.  Sometimes it feels a little old.  I know, I know, I hate to write that, but I’ve seen people not want to watch it because of it doesn’t look modern.  Special Editions and Blu-Ray versions are better, but you can still notice that the movie (and sometimes the hairstyles) are from 1977.
2.  You follow two robots for a large portion of the movie.  Some people love this and they say it makes the movie more interesting, but trust me – I have a friend thinking of watching the movies for the first time and this club-going, glitzy and glamorous girl will not be interested in watching two bickering robots for the majority of the beginning of the movie.
3.  Oh gosh, I can’t think of another con.  I am clearly biased!

I understand my brother’s argument, but I’m too much of a purist to let anyone start with Episode I.  I also think you could get really lost while watching that movie and not want to watch the rest of the saga.  Whereas, when you start with IV, you get connected to the characters and want to continue watching their journey.  And lastly, you miss out on the big surprise in Episode V of Vader being Luke’s father.

What do you think?  What movie would you start the saga off with?  Would it be different for a child who has no concept of Star Wars vs. a grown person who has knowledge of the saga but has never seen it?  Do you think that when Episode VII comes out, we will have this argument all over again? 😉

17 thoughts on “Once Upon A Time…

  1. I would start off with EPISODE IV: A NEW HOPE, because that’s the start of all the 6 films. The first movie I grew up with and fell in love with. But it may be sort of a older /young adult films and not suitable for kids without parents guidance to EPISODE III: ROTS from the PG-13 which it will scare off young kids. So my suggestion that the new next generation of kids they shall watch only THE CLONE WARS SEASONS 1-5 on both BLU-RAY and DVD if they have a BLU-RAY/DVD PLAYER. Or for me I could start anywhere like EPISODES I-VI or EPISODES IV-III.

    • You know, I’ve been hearing more and more about people suggesting to introduce kids with TCW. And now there’s the new show coming out – Star Wars Rebels, so that might have to be thrown into the mix as well. By the time I have kids, there will also be Episode VII to contend with. Yikes! Lots of variables here.

  2. Here’s the best explanation I’ve ever heard for how to introduce someone to the Star Wars saga. It’s called the Machete Theory:

    Start with A New Hope. Then Empire. Then – and here’s the tricky part that’s hard to explain to people – then you “Machete” in the prequels. But you skip Phantom Menace Entirely. You do this because the entire story of Phantom Menace can be and is explained in Attack of the Clones in one or two sentences: Obi Wan finds a boy who has special Jedi Powers. So, skip Phantom Menace. Go right to Attack of the Clone and Revenge of the Sith. And then after that, move on to Jedi.

    Here’s why this is the definitive way to experience the saga: For a person who knows nothing about the series, the prequels will act as a flashback – a comprehensive explanation for how Darth Vader becomes Darth Vader. And it subsequently raises the tension and drama of Jedi, because you now know how Anakin fell. Will it be the same for Luke?

    • But if you skip TPM, you skip Maul and Qui-Gon, who are two awesome characters! I can’t imagine skipping TPM because I’m one of the few who really like it…and I despise AOTC. Essentially you are saying IV, V, II, III, VI. That could be interesting. I vaguely feel like I’ve heard of this theory before, but it was prob you who told me it originally lol. I feel like one day I should try this out. Or maybe over 4-5 days, but it could be an interesting way of viewing the series.

  3. My husband and I jokingly argue about which movie to start our hypothetical kids with. I would vote for Ep IV because of the superior quality of the original trilogy. I personally was started with Ep V and that worked out well for me! I have heard support for showing them in this order: IV, V, II, III, VI (with no TPM, but I think kids would actually like that one.)

  4. I would probably go with Episode IV, for many of the reasons you listed. Plus, the acting and storyline in IV, V, and VI are much better than that in I, II, and III (IMHO).

    It’s funny…I had a conversation about this with my brothers just the other day. Thanks for writing this funny and thought-provoking post!

    • Oh, brothers. I have two. My older one was not present for this conversation, but it’s amusing how insistent my 17 year old was about watching TPM first. I agree with the OT. I think the story line and characters are so much better.

  5. I would start with IV because that’s where the movies started and where everyone who wasn’t already a teenager when I came out started. If it worked for us, it will work for them. Besides, if you don’t well, we all know what River Song would say! Spoilers! Show the originals, then the new ones, then make them watch it in order for them to truly get what’s going on and to see the evolution of the Republic to the Empire and back.

  6. When I was a kid, we started watching with Return of the Jedi on VHS because there were bears on the cover. It didn’t make a lot of sense, but I really liked the space battles.
    I’m not much of a fan of the prequels. I think the plotting is slow and the characters flat (excluding Obi-Wan). I like Episode III the best of the three, but I don’t think any of the prequels are essential viewing. They’re like an expansion pack that lets you hang out in the world a while longer, but aren’t the core of the series.

    • I’ve definitely gotten the sense that you’re not a huge fan of the prequels 😦 Some of them are not that bad! I’m also glad I convinced you to maybe kind of like TPM with my blog post that you nominated on your page?

      ROTS is a little scary for kids too, which is why it’s hard to show the Prequels right away. My brother couldn’t watch the Anakin burning scene until he was about 13 or 14.

  7. Pingback: The Phantom Menace: For a Young Audience? | Star Wars Anonymous

  8. Pingback: Give Me Your Advice! | Star Wars Anonymous

Use Your Comlink...

