Code of Conduct

Sometimes, fans piss me off.  They really do.  And to me, there is nothing worse than judgment from within the Star Wars community.  So-and-so thinks they’re a better fan because they’ve read every single EU book, so-and-so thinks they’re the biggest fan because they have the most Star Wars costumes, so-and-so thinks they’re the best fan because they listen to podcasts, read every Star Wars blog, etc., etc.  But lately – what’s been pissing me off the most – are the people who want to shove their opinion down my throat on why the Prequels suck.

I guess, in a way, I get angry at people who refuse to acknowledge the Prequels because it’s still part of Star Wars.  Like any relationship, there are parts about it that you love, and parts that you can’t stand.  All six movies came from George Lucas, so let’s embrace it as a whole story, as opposed to separate chunks.

I’m not trying to rant here.  I love that people have different opinions, and everyone knows that I really can’t stand AOTC, but I feel like when I’m talking to another fan – please show respect.  I, for one, love TPM and it’s the whole reason I have an Old Republic Jedi Costume.

While mulling this in my head yesterday while stuck in a ridiculous amount of traffic, I created a code of conduct (though the code is more what you’d call “guidelines” than actual rules) for all Star Wars fans.  Yes, ALL.  So you must ALL follow what I say, OKAY?!

The Do’s and Don’ts When Talking with Prequel Fans

Don’t judge people who like the Prequels or try to “convert” them to the Original Trilogy.  Yes, there are those out there who actually like the Prequels.  We should try to look at the Star Wars saga as a “whole”, as opposed to two separate trilogies.  There’s always someone in the family that you’re a little ashamed of and don’t want to be seen in public with, but they’re blood and you still love them.  Same thing goes for the Prequels.  I also know many children who adore the Prequels.  These younglings look at the Original Trilogy as outdated, but love the flash and glitz of the Prequels.  And don’t forget, the Prequels are a precursor to The Clone Wars, which for many of them, is why they were drawn into the Star Wars universe to begin with.  When you try to change someone’s mind about the movies they like, you only end up coming off as condescending.  No one wants that.

jedi training academy disneyworld

Don’t blame everything on Jar Jar Binks.  He was only prominent in one movie.  Most people view Jar Jar with hatred through adult eyes.  I remember being a child when TPM first came out and didn’t mind Jar Jar.  In fact, I didn’t like or dislike him, he was just another character that was in the movie.  I feel that so many adults hated his childish ways and discounted the fact that a lot of children enjoyed his presence in the movie.  Lucas has said, “the movies are for children but they don’t want to admit that… There is a small group of fans that do not like comic sidekicks. They want the films to be tough like The Terminator, and they get very upset and opinionated about anything that has anything to do with being childlike.”  What we forget as adults is how bogged down TPM gets with politics and dialogue and so much of it goes way over the head of young children.  Having Jar Jar there as a distraction keeps the children slightly more engaged through the dialogue-ridden scenes.  And without Jar Jar, we wouldn’t have my FAVORITE spoof of all time from Robot Chicken:

Don’t blame George Lucas for ruining Star Wars.  We all wanted the movies.  For years, fans wanted Episodes I-III.  And we begged, clamored, and speculated as to if these movies were ever going to come to fruition.  And guess what?  Lucas decided, “Hey, I think it’s time to tell Anakin’s complete story”.  He proceeded to make TPM…and everyone hated him.  It’s sad, because the expectations were SO HIGH.  We wanted the Original Trilogy back.  But technology had changed, Hollywood had changed, and Lucas had changed.  We forget how much he pushed the envelopes with technology during the Prequels.  When you look at the CGI, Jar Jar was seamlessly blended into the movies, and you forget that he is completely computer generated, along with Dexter Jettster, the Kaminoans, Grievous, etc.  Lucas pushed the boundaries and made these characters that only existed onscreen believable.

george lucas filming

 

Do find good things to say about the Prequels.  There are so many reasons, and I’ve just listed a few above.  When you show that you are open to accepting the Prequels as part of the Star Wars saga, you end up being more welcoming to different kinds of Star Wars fans.  Encourage people to talk about their love of the Prequels, and don’t mention how much you hate them until you get to know them better.  Treat the Prequels like you would treat politics: sensitively, and not trying to push your opinion down anyone’s throat.  There are valid points for liking the prequels, and remember that it can be very subjective.

Everyone likes happy Star Wars fans

Everyone likes happy Star Wars fans

 

Now, let’s all make this fandom a better place, right?

13 thoughts on “Code of Conduct

  1. I agree. I view them as one entity. I love them all, but I prefer the OT. But I love the costumes and look of the new ones. It is one giant story, and I don’t get fans that hate on the PT either.

      • A friend, who is only a year older than me, got into a discussion about it a while back. He hates the prequels. But he did say that that’s what sets him apart from me, I’m a true fan, he isn’t. His words not mine.

        • Lol…I like the disclaimer of “his words not mine”. Because I try not to label people as “true fans”, etc, because then, like I mentioned in my first paragraph, you get into a hierarchy in the fan world, which shouldn’t be there. I mean, you could argue that you’ll get it no matter what kind of organization you’re part of, but I always feel like we should try to discourage it in fan worlds. Mostly because a lot of us could have been bullied or ridiculed for not being “cool” in school, so when we look down on others who have different tastes in Star Wars, Dr. Who, Star Trek, etc, then we are essentially doing the same thing.

          • I agree. I don’t look down on him at all, I just thought his phrasing of it was odd at the time. We are all fans, no matter to what degree we may consider ourselves fans, so we should stick together. But if that’s how he views it, then I’m not going to get into a an argument over it.

  2. Good stuff.

    I liked the prequels too. The fight sequences alone were worth the price of admission. And it’s all part of the same story, all part of the same universe, and shouldn’t be set aside just because some people didn’t think they were as good as the original trilogy.

    Then again, I’m not a true fan, so what do I know. 😉

    • I do love the fight sequences. Especially in TPM. I think the Maul vs. Qui Gon and Obi-Wan is the best fight scene out of all the movies.

      There’s no such thing as a “true fan”! You are a fan just by joining this discussion 🙂

      • I thought the Anakin and Obi-Wan fight scene was the best… I’m pretty sure I was actually gripping the arm rests as I watched it play out. I didn’t like the ending, but the ride to get there was superb. And, yes, the Darth Maul fight scene was great!

  3. This is what I think about Star Wars from a blindness perspective.
    Firstly, I’ve been blind since birth (that’s really not sucha bad thing) seriously. Some folks think it’s horrible.
    Well, in a similar way to going off on fans just because your an old school Star Wars adult who happens to dislike the later films forgetting that they form the entire saga of Anikan Skywalker, then one thing to understand is that, unless you live your lives as one who is blind, then perhaps it’s not for you to state if it’s tarible or not. Remember that your imagining things. And that your imagination may be a path to the dark side of the Force.
    Grin.
    I don’t know why I jumpt in with pointing this out, but felt that I should, because a lot of people think that my happening to be born with various conditions that caused blindness is the most aweful thing in the world.
    Well, it’s not.
    After all, I can still see, in a different way.
    I can write, can use a computer keyboard, and can read using Braille, and when it comes to observing people and situations, I find that I’m able to see into the hearts of people with a clarity that one atuned to the Force may possibly experience, or would be able to, if it were possible to be transported back to that galaxy.

    What makes the saga real for me?
    The answer isn’t that hard to figure out, but hear it is.
    Sound, dialog, and just about everything else minus visual special effects, light flashes, or anything else, (though in the Friday seen descriptions), you fill in the environmental details, that allow me to get a far better picture in my mind such as what type of place Luke was in when the sand people found him.
    Even described films sometimes fail to fill in the environmental details properly since they’re nairating as fast as they can, in most cases the one describing a seen talks over the dialog (do you know how annoying that can be) to have the volume of the dialog be talked over, then the volume of the dialog rises back to normal?
    That’s actually no fun, because then I’ll spend ages trying to figure out: “What did character A say to character B?”
    That’s just an example of what happens when some films have people talk over dialog.
    Though, in most cases, films are described so that the dialog isn’t being talked over too much.
    You’d have to watch films long enough to summarise your descriptions, and they couldn’t be as detailed as the Friday seen stuff sadly.
    But that’s not the only thing that makes Star Wars what it is.
    Descriptions, such as what Qui-gon Jinn was like when the TPM book itself came out, are nevertheless to me important.
    That way I can get a picture of how tall he would be in a life-like seen, and so on.
    Although, I have one annoying thing about Qui-Gon.
    The sentence from the TPM book:
    Qui-Gon was nearing sixty.
    That doesn’t tel me too much about his age.
    I’ve thought about writing detailed ideas in my mind that use Qui-Gon Jinn in them, because I have come to think that out of all Jedi, Qui-Gon is just awesome.
    Really.
    Despite all the AU stuff, and yeah I’ve listened to just about every audio book I can, but really.
    Qui-Gon in my mind, is as important to Star Wars, as Albus Dumbledore was to Harry Potter.
    Sometimes, I feel that Jinn is over looked by some as a duelist, a lot of fans like Yoda, but really. Jinn held out for quite some time 15 minutes using a form that was not designed for long combat against Darth Maul, and had he not been so tired, I think he would have just possibly, held out a bit longer. Just my opinion, I know he died, but I do not need to agree with that choice necessarily, just as I felt when Dumbledore ultimately died. I understand why both died, but still.
    Both men discovered love was the answer to the darkness in the respective worlds, and I’m sure that if Qui-Gon and Dumbledore could connect in some strange way, that would be most interesting.
    But I’m curious.
    Is Qui-Gon 59, 60, or something else in between?
    I can’t seem to find a real source on what his age was.
    Perhaps my Internet searching skills are a bit rusted, or the Force is lacking in some way. grin
    What is my favorite weapon?
    For me, the lightsaber is the most awesome weapon in existence!
    I have several Sideshow Collectables Star Wars dolls here, and because I can’t see, I actually do play with them.
    I’ve got Qui-Gon Jinn, MaceWindu, and then several Hasbro figures.
    The Hasbro versions of Qui-Gon well..I don’t know.. the hair they used..then the yelling expressions (yep) I can clearly feel those on the Hasbro line of Qui-gons..LOL…well, I don’t know…
    Posing the figures is a lot of fun, really. Including engaging in mock duels. I even did one a while back where Qui-Gon sent Mace into another demention with lightsaber skill. LOL
    Yep, at the age of only twenty six, I’m a geeky Blind Star Wars fan, never been to a convention, but I’ve been a fan for ages.
    I actually had a Qui-Gon Jinn electronic lightsaber once, and a Darth Maul one.
    I even actually fought my dad once.
    Furiously engaged him in a duel that raged back and fourth for several long minutes (yes) being blind, I can actually sense to an extent, where your gonna be moving these things.
    So I don’t do too bad.
    Unless, I break something that is.
    Well, after many long minutes of slamming blades together, and keep in mind I’m swinging the double-bladed lightsaber about in a small space bouncing off my then connected computer screen, (one of those large CRT stile ones) at the time, and several other things.
    The next thing I know, I bring the saber above my head, swing, slam one side down sending things flying off a shelf or two, and then the entire lightsaber just exploded!
    Pretty much exploded, shattered for sure.
    It never worked again, batteries flew in all directions, the thing was hanging by two wires from both halvs, where they should have joined to form one long thing, and well..since then I don’t think I’ve engaged in duels, involving lightsabers, that is.
    If anybody knows Qui-Gon’s age, let me know.
    Hope you like the duel in how I ended up breaking my own weapon!
    If anybody wants to know more about why I’m such a Star Wars fan, let me know.
    May the Force be with you!
    Hopefully, read my comment, someone will. For if read my comment you do not, cry I will. Big sobbing Jedi Master Yoda I will be! Want me to sob, do you? LOL

    • Hi! I appreciate you commenting on my blog…so much easier than twitter. Here you can actually write something longer than 140 characters.

      I think it’s amazing that you’re a huge Star Wars fan and also blind. I am deaf in one ear – that doesn’t even come close to what you experience – but it does present complications in my life. But to love Star Wars without seeing it…I find that just fabulous. George Lucas really did create an amazing world that it can translate into so many languages and mediums.

      Thanks for the feedback on my Scene it on Friday posts! I will definitely try to incorporate more descriptions (other than what the scene actually says) now that I know you’re reading them. When I was younger, I once got out a version of Alice in Wonderland from the library by mistake that was for the “visually impaired”, as they labeled it, and I remember it talked over the dialogue so much! I didn’t mind the descriptions even though I was watching it at the same time, but talking over the dialogue was too much. How frustrating, especially as you sit there dying to know what people were saying to each other.

      Qui-Gon Jinn is actually one of my favorite characters of all time. You’ve definitely given me new insight into his life. I did find on Wookiepedia that he was exactly 60 years old when he died. It didn’t say that in the content, but on a small bar on the right hand side, so it was easy to miss (not sure how your computer works). I, too, had a Qui-Gon lightsaber. It was the first one I ever owned! Just not as fancy as yours, mine was just a plastic one from Toys R Us. I now have a much nicer one from UltraSabers that goes with my Jedi costume. I have also heard about how he knew some special form of dueling, or was an expert at lightsaber duels…something like that.

      Honestly – I just love that you love Star Wars as much as you do without being able to see it. Props to you. Continue to read and join the discussion on my blog. I’d love to hear more from you!

      • Howdy!
        Great to see that you replied back to the comment, that’s awesome stuff about Qui-Gon by the way :).
        He was and still is awesome!

        Of course I’ll keep reading-you can be sure! Have been for awhile now, actually. I just haven’t really taken the time to write when I could have been writing for quite some time, that’s for sure!
        And yeah-I know the little bar you mentioned where you figured out how old Qui-Gon was, but my screen reader didn’t quite know how to read it, though most of the content like hair color, etc read perfectly well!
        Just not the ultimate age thing-so thanks for filling that in grin.
        If you haven’t read Cloak of Deception, go read that.
        You’ll find that though Qui-Gon didn’t specificly say or realize “Oh crap, Sidious is behind all this!”, he did hint that he felt that the Jedi Knights were being moved about by something greater, and more seriously, unseen.
        And you know who that was-it was never Maul, not even Vader..Ultimately, Sidious was the mastermind, and the true menace that was never seen by the Jedi order.
        However, despite being dismissed outright by Mace Windu and the others until it was too late, Qui-Gon realized in TPM if you recall: “My only conclusion can be that it was, a Sith lord.”
        But you see what that was a glimps of, surely? Not just the words.
        Think of Qui-Gon’s connection to the living Force, locked in on the present moment.
        I am sure of this.
        If Jinn had lived, you may be assured that he wouldn’t of fallen along with Mace and the others when Sidious launched Order 66.
        And from what I know, you should know this too, Order 66 actually began with the showdown in his office.
        Sidious recorded the events leading up to when he drew his lightsaber from inside a sleeve and pretty much destroied all four Jedi considering that Anakin helped him.
        And if you read the Episode three book, you’ll know that Sidious allowed Mace to apparently (and never forget that), defeat him in saber combat.
        Sidious was if nothing else, quite the tactical one as well.
        Mace Windu never ultimately defeated him, though he was deceived into thinking so.
        And, Mace had an attachment.
        Anikin’s– you know it was to his friends, and those loial to him, but for Mace Windu, it was the republic that he loved.
        And that was his undoing ultimately, his distrusting natrue took him too far, and h chose to not follow the code as much as you think.
        Ultimately, Mace diverged from the Jedi code and, was prepared to execute Sidious without a second thought, causing Anakin to act ultimately, out of fear and possibly, love.
        Don’t forget that Sidious used love that he surely was aware of the entire time in Anakin to draw him into pledging himself as a Sith lord, but that love ultimately turned against him too, and Sidious foolish man that he was, and blinded in his own way (he failed to realize Luke was on the forest moon), and admits this with the line: “strange that I have not. I wonder if your feelings on this matter are clear, Lord Vader.”
        If that’s not blindness, then what is?
        Star Wars ultimately isn’t all about who has the most power in the Force, or anything else like it.
        That’s what I think as well, when dwelling on what makes Star Wars a saga.
        What do you think?
        Do you believe as I do, that if anybody could have forsen the events that Jinn did?
        I’m sure he had a vision of what Anakin would do, even being Sith for 23 years, yes Anakin served the light and dark equally for 23 years each roughly, and ultimately brought balance as Qui-Gon realized he’d do.
        Again, maybe that living Force living in the moment connection?
        Strange that Qui-Gon wasn’t ultimately as blidn as the other Jedi.
        He reminds me much of a Dumbledore like person; really.
        Dumbledore also saw things that nobody else around him even suspected.
        This entire discussion is interesting for sure.
        What do you believe?
        Have I given you any engaging thoughts to expand on?
        It would be very interesting if I’ve sparked anything in your mind as to what that might be.
        Perhaps a possible future topic?
        grin.
        If nothing else, I hope you will consider logicly seeing if we ultimately have the same thougths considering just how much of fans we are to the Star Wars world.
        I don’t mean any EU stuff, ultimately, I’m just drawing on what only seems to be logic.
        My guess is that, Jinn was supposed to train Skywalker; not Obi-wan.
        Obi-wan was not ready, indeed.
        Obi-wan was no stability source, he did not provide grounding to Anakin Skywalker, only Qui-Gon was a source of stability, and only Qui-Gon could provide that grounding, read the ending of TPm as the victory celebration occurs, as to how Anakin feels both during the funeral, and later.
        I don’t think the importants of this can be understated, Jinn’s death played a major reason in Anakin falling if you consider what I just said above, too.
        Add the loss of his mother, ten years later following Jinn’s death, and finally doing a Sith tradition of killing someone close to you (that actually turned out to be Dooku) Anakin used him to step fully into the dark side, then he began thinking inwards only about himself, read the full Revenge Of The Sith book. You will see how self-thinking he becomes..that’s another Dark Side trate from what I understand.
        My final thoughts on this:
        Jinn would very probably have kept Anakin a jedi and Skywalker would have ultimately killed Sidious I suspect.
        What do you think?
        The other thing I am curious about, too, and I also want to know what you think.
        If Anakin had done as Luke did later — refused to kill Dooku, would Sidious have then engaged in Force lightning, and tried to kill Anakin himself?
        He did exactly that to Luke, was prepared to kill Luke, nearly did, too.
        So would Sidious, already power crazed, have done the same if that roll could have been prevented and Dooku spared?

        Hope you enjoy reading!

        Sincerely,
        your blind Star Wars fan buddy!

        • I agree that things would have been very different if Qui-Gon lived. And I also agree that he was definitely meant to train Anakin, not Obi-Wan.

          I am in accord with you that Sidious was more of a puppeteer than anyone realized. He definitely knew Anakin would have killed Dooku and he probably told Dooku in private to get rid of Obi-Wan/render him unconscious, so he could manipulate Anakin into killing Dooku. Well, I’m sure he didn’t tell Dooku that part because Dooku honestly did look frightened, but I think he told him the Obi-Wan part.

          I also never liked Mace Windu as a Jedi. I found him very cold, unfeeling, and untrusting. You make a good point that Mace Windu was so attached to the Republic, that it blinded him to other things that were going on around him.

          A great point you made was how Anakin served the light and dark side of the Force for exactly ~23 years. I never, ever realized that. But did he bring balance? I’m not sure. People say he brought balance through his son, Luke, but I think you should read this Tor article on balance in the Force – I find it very interesting: http://www.tor.com/blogs/2012/09/the-qtrue-nature-of-the-force-is-way-more-complicated-than-you-think

  4. Wow!
    Cool stuff-will read the article for sure!
    And by the way.
    In the Revenge Of The Sith book, Sidious sitting strapt to the generals chair, tels Dooku that “Kenobie must die today. At your hand.”
    And in fact, Sidious led Dooku to believe that Dooku would simply be “captured” by Anakin, and that Anakin would arrest him basicly, and that Dooku would then somehow magicly, appear to apologize for all that had happened, and then the empire and army of the Sith would somehow still take place, and Dooku could retire and all that.
    But as you know, this never was ment to be.
    Even Ventris, warned Dooku that he was expendable, and that one day Sidious would replace him since that’s what the Sith do, but Dooku ironicly the former Master of Qui-Gon Jinn, chose to not believe her at all.
    Tipical Dooku, no?
    So sure in his invinceability.
    How wrong he was, oh how wrong.
    Before dying, Dooku is explained in this way: “Even his knowledge of the Force has become a joke. It is this knowledge that shows him his death. Makes him handel it..” and I forget honestly how the rest of that goes, but you can see my memory for teling you half the sentences in that book isn’t bad.
    Books are ultimately, far mroe detailing than any movie can be.
    For example the combat seens in the duel of the fates as seen on film were too fast, made Jin appear to tire very fast and so on.
    When in reality, Qui-Gon actually pressed hard in the beginning and if you read the duel as the TPM book shows it, Jinn actually held out for about 15 minutes or so using a highly enerjetic stile that was never, ever, designed for prolonged combat, and only started tiring near the end. The problem with form four and up is this. These forms are tiring on the body of the practitioner, and even with the Force to sustain you and drive you to things you could never normally do (overcoming physical limits is key for the fourth form of wich Qui-Gon Jinn and Yoda were both masters) though Jinn more so, since he actually overcame one major weekness of the form, the poor blaster deflection of this form, for one thing. But Jinn wasn’t without his weekenesses, either. It was the lack of space to work his blade properly ultimately, and played-out momentum and something else I’m warning you about, most seriously so in both Jinn’s and Dooku’s cases, fatigue.
    Fatigue that Maul exploited.
    From what I understand, ever since the first engagement, Maul knew exactly how he was gonna kill Jinn should they have a second-and as you know, once Maul separated Jinn from kenobie as he could never defeat the Master/Padawan team they made, you understand why he did that, don’t you? Got Jinn to follow him into the lazers surrounding the melting pit, and then hammered away, using form 7. No, not Vaapadd, Mace Windu was the only master of that variation on form 7, but Jinn was way to fatigued by the time he had his final assault with Maul, I don’t think that meditation he did to find a reserve of strength was long enough for Jinn to really recover fully, dspite finding the reserve that he clarly did (read the TPM book again), Jinn did find a fresh reserve, but it’s my belief that it wasn’t a long enough period for Jinn to meditate fully to recover completely, and that also led to his death. He maintained his ferocity against Maul during that final assault, even drove it to a higher level, and might have held out, but again, he got too tired, and that tiredness of the body despite the Force raging through Jinn contributed to him dying on Maul’s saber and being hit on the chin that way. (you understand now) don’t you? What these high level forms require? And that if your body is already tired, the Force channeling through you cannot sustain you forever anyways. It doesn’t matter if your the next Anakin, or anybody else-that’s not the point, nobody is immune to this. Dooku and Jinn both had deaths that were mostly contributed to physical tiredness, not necessarily a lack of saber skill (for sure in Jinns case) Dooku? A lack of skill (a flaw in form two) not being able to generate enough power to meet Anakin strength to strength once Anakin began displaying his full mastery of form five, may have also contributed to why Dooku died.
    But being tired physically in both Jinn’s/Dooku’s cases, led to them dying, the Force did not save them, the years of training mattered little ultimately. And both men were great swordsmen, Qui-Gon being regarded as one of the most able swordsmen in the Jedi order, and not even Anakin was called that.
    Hear’s another section of the TPM book, that really showed Jinn’s mastery, and this is why I am very sure, that had Jin not been so tired due to the long pace of the duel, he may have possibly killed Maul. What do you think honestly? This sentence makes me feel that Jinn didn’t die to a lack of saber skill despite Darth Maul surpassing Jinn in weapons training with the double bladed saber for sure and being more than an equal for Jinn. He surpassed Jinn in training (if you think of that being from Qui-gon’s viewpoint of the duel), and those Jinn wasn’t the best tactical Jedi, he did realize that Maul was controlling the duel entirely. Though Maul didn’t just surpass Jinn in training of the lightsaber (again the much higher form he used wanting a physical victory over both aponents proves this) plus being younger and stronger ultimately. But even so. I still strongly want to express again that I feel that Jinn could hav (possibly) survived. Would like to know your thoughts, since you know how the duel worked out.
    Do you think that Jinn could possibly have survived?
    Or not.
    “Qui-Gon pressed hard in the beginning, sensing how dangerous this man was, wanting to put an end to the combat quickly. Long hair flying out behind him, he attacked with ferocity and determination.”

Use Your Comlink...

