Scene it on Friday – ANH Scene #25

Ohhhh, how I love this scene.  It gives me goosebumps.  Such a small scene, but so poignant and a huge turning point.

And Obi-Wan knew.  That’s what is chilling.  As soon as Luke returns, Obi-Wan knew that at this moment, everything was changing and the deaths of Aunt Beru and Uncle Owen had to happen for Luke to start his journey.

When Luke makes that decision to go to Alderaan, you can feel the movie shift it’s focus.  Well, really, I think the tone of the movie shifted when Luke sees the dead bodies of his Aunt and Uncle right before this scene, but the shift for Luke happens in his decision.  Gone is the farm boy who wants to go to Tosche Station for power converters or just muck around with his friends.  We now have a man beginning to grow in his place.

Have you guys ever experienced something like what Luke had?  I mean, small moments can feel like this too.  It’s not like we need to experience extreme tragedy and decide to pack up and move across the country to feel that one moment of, “Everything is going to change.”

There have been small moments in my life like that.  One moment would definitely be deciding what college to go to (Mount Holyoke College) and realizing that this could change my entire life.  You come to that decision and it just stills your mind and body.

Another moment would be when I came to the decision that I wanted to marry my now husband.  It really does feel like your world has shifted and you have an old life and a new life and you’re straddling this fine line.  It’s that mental decision of, “I want to go with you to Alderaan”, but instead I said in my head, “I want to spend the rest of my life with you.”  Just like that, my life changed and I could feel it in my entire being.  There was a life pre-husband and I was about to embark on a journey post-husband.  I’m not saying everyone comes to a eureka moment like that when they are going to get married; that was just my experience.

I wonder how Luke would categorize it in his memory?  Pre-Aunt and Uncle and post-Aunt and Uncle?  Pre-Empire and post-Empire?  Pre-droids and post-droids?  Or maybe even pre-Obi-Wan and post-Obi-Wan?

Luke obi wan burned jawas sandcrawler

EXTERIOR: TATOOINE — WASTELAND.

There is a large bonfire of Jawa bodies blazing in front of the Sandcrawler as Ben and the robots finish burning the dead.  Luke drives up in the speeder and walks over to Ben.

BEN: There’s nothing you could have done, Luke, had you been there.  You’d have been killed, too, and the droids would be in the hands of the Empire.

LUKE: I want to come with you to Alderaan. There’s nothing here for me now. I want to learn the ways of the Force and become a Jedi like my father.

Use Your Comlink...

