Scene it on Friday – AOTC Scene #32

First of all: Elan Sleazebaggano.  WHO NAMED THIS GUY?  IT’S AWESOME!  Sleaze bag, with the –gano at the end..so original. The saddest thing, in my eyes, is that the EU changed the last name to “Sel’Sabagno”.  C’mon – his name was so obvious and that’s what made it so awesome!  After doing some research, it looks like they tried to change the name pretty fast by the time the movie came out because of how obvious the name was referencing Sleaze Bag.  However, there is still evidence of his fabulous last name, with this trading card.

Dear Elan Sleazebaggano,

My condolences go out to you.  You had an amazing last name at one point, a name that defined you and gave you meaning in life.  I loved your last name.  I’m sorry Lucasfilm and the EU decided to change it for retcon reasons.  I am putting your name up there with Gonk Droid as one of my favorite Star Wars names and hopefully, with this blog post, your name will continue to live on.

Condolences,
Kiri

By the way – according to the EU, Elan went back and rethought his life for a little bit, but it didn’t last long.  Good ol’ Sleaze Bag…can’t hold him back.

At the end of this scene, when watching Anakin telling everyone in the club to go back to their drinks, I always thought he pulled a Jedi mind trick, but now this scene is making me think a little differently about that.  Obviously, Lucas wanted this scene to mirror the Cantina scene in ANH: two humans enter a bar/club, climax with lightsaber being pulled out by Obi-Wan, an injury on the opposition, and everyone goes back to their business.

obi wan lightsaber zam wessell nightclub

But it was just the way Anakin said it that seemed different to me – he barked it like an order.  And when there are that many curious aliens, in my mind it translated that when a Jedi says an order and sentient beings obey, it’s actually a Jedi mind trick.

Finally – and I’m completely admitting that I haven’t seen AOTC in quite a while because of my intense disappointment of the film as a whole (there we go again!  I can’t get through one AOTC Scene it on Friday without mentioning how much I dislike it) – but did Anakin say in the film “I love you.  I don’t want to cause you pain.”?

Yup, I just watched the scene.  I’m right; Anakin does not say that line in the final version.  Thank goodness…the movie is corny enough without him declaring his love to Obi-Wan while walking into a shady Coruscant night club.  As Mace Windu would say, “Now is not the time for this.”  But again, even if they cut that line out, it speaks to my theory of the AOTC script just being ill polished and cringe-worthy.

Oh!  One last thing!  Are you wondering what death-sticks are?  It’s a hallucinogen.  The liquid form could be drank as a liquid; the hardened form cold be smoked.  It created an effect of the world around you being enhanced by bright colors, which is why it sold so well on Coruscant: lots of bright flashing screens and colors down on the bottom parts.  Star Wars drugs 101 for you.

Obi Wan Anakin Coruscant nightclub

INTERIOR: NIGHTCLUB – NIGHT

OBI-WAN and ANAKIN enter the nightclub bar, and everyone stares at them.

ANAKIN: Don’t say that Master… You’re the closest thing I have to a father… I love you. I don’t want to cause you pain.

OBI-WAN: Then why don’t you listen to me?!

ANAKIN: I am trying.

OBI-WAN: Can you see him?

ANAKIN: I think he’s a she… and I think she’s a changeling.

OBI-WAN: In that case be extra careful… (nods to the room) Go and find her.

OBI-WAN goes away.

ANAKIN: Where are you going, Master?

OBI-WAN: For a drink.

OBI-WAN heads for the bar. ANAKIN blinks in surprise, then moves into the room, where ALIEN FACES look back at him with hostility, suspicion, and invitation as he moves among the tables. OBI-WAN arrives at the bar. He signals the BARMAN.

CLOSE – Somewhere in the room a HAND moves to a pistol in its holster and unsnaps the safety catch. At the bar, a glass is placed in front of OBI-WAN. A drink is poured. He lifts the glass.

ELAN SLEAZEBAGGANO: You wanna buy some death-sticks?

OBI-WAN looks at him. He moves his fingers slightly.

OBI-WAN: You don’t want to sell me death-sticks.

ELAN: I don’t want to sell you death-sticks.

OBI-WAN moves his fingers.

OBI-WAN: You want to go home and rethink your life.

ELAN: I want to go home and rethink my life.

He leaves. OBI-WAN lifts the drink and tosses it back.

CLOSE – The gun is drawn from its holster and held down out of sight. The BOUNTY HUNTER starts to move toward the bar. The gun moves toward OBI-WAN’S unsuspecting back. The gun is raised to aim directly at his back, and suddenly OBI-WAN turns fast. His lightsaber flashes. There is a shrill SCREAM and ZAM’S ARM hits the floor. The gun drops from its twitching fingers. Blood spreads.

The room is silent. ANAKIN is suddenly at OBI-WAN’s side, his lightsaber glowing.

ANAKIN: Easy… official business. Go back to your drinks.

Slowly, the ALIENS sit. Conversation resumes. Onstage, THE PERFORMERS pick up their routine. OBI-WAN and ANAKIN lift ZAM and carry her out.

3 thoughts on “Scene it on Friday – AOTC Scene #32

  1. “Sleazebaggano” is totally an awesome name. Although I wish they had done “spice” instead of “deathsticks,” because spice like glitterstim was already established in EU…not that George Lucas cares about that. This scene might actually be one of my favorites in ATOC. I agree, thank goodness they cut that “I love you” crap…Anakin already has plenty of awful dialogue in that movie.

    • I’m glad you agree on the name. I’m thinking of keeping a running list on the side of the awesome names in Star Wars…mainly names in the script that were later changed in the EU, and then eventually doing a blog post on them.

Use Your Comlink...

