Geek Out!

Since Celebration Europe is over, I thought now would be a good time to recap some of the announcements released there, random Star Wars news, and also go into a few life updates of mine.

In regards to casting rumors…

  • Last week, the internet was swirling with rumors that Ryan Gosling or Zac Efron could be in Episode VII.  It’s funny how things swell and then die on the internet.  It was tweeted and written about wherever I efron gosling starwarslooked last week.  Now, it’s faded into obscurity once again.  People were claiming that because both of them were linked to Disney at a younger age, they would be top choices for the new Star Wars movie.  Honestly – these casting rumors started to bore me.  When it comes down to it, what if they did pick Gosling or Efron?  Would our lives fall apart?  What is so wrong with them?  Oh yessss…I see, you are trying to bring girls into a predominantly male genre by giving them a delectable dish on a silver serving platter.  Eye candy.  Girls who would never otherwise see Star Wars, will be lining out the door.  Well, if that scares you, you are looking at it the wrong way.  It could be a way to introduce Star Wars to whole new group of people who would never have considered it otherwise.  Trust me, it’s the true fans that will stick around long after the pretty boys are gone because we are there for the meat, the good stuff, STAR WARS.  And, who knows, I’ve never been super disappointed with Efron or Gosling’s movies yet, so any kind of eye candy may surprise us.  In regards to any casting made, pretty face or not, in the words of wise Old Ben, “Your eyes can deceive you.  Don’t trust them.”

Celebration Europe II brought about a few announcements regarding Episode VII.  I think fans were hoping for more, but I’m pleasantly surprised.  Honestly – I just thought they’d tell us the three main actors were returning and that would be that.  But here are the main points taken away from the convention:

  • John Williams is returning for Episode VII!  Woo!/Phew!  Thank goodness.  What a great way to start off.  John Williams is the man and we could all benefit from him kickstarting this new series.  At this point, he said he feels like he’s never left the galaxy far, far away.  “The story is still unknown to me, the new story, but I can’t imagine that there will not be some references to the existing stories that we know that would necessitate, and make appropriate, the use of some of the earlier themes.”
  • Kathleen Kennedy announced that the new film (I’m hoping the new trilogy as well) will try to find a good balance between CGI effects and real props and locations.  The way I read what she’s saying – it sounds like they are taking a hard look at the Original Trilogy and trying to take what worked well with that and bringing it to Episode VII; namely that the OT had real character development and less CGI/more actual props and locations.  I’m also reading this as her saying, “The Prequels were a failure.  Sorry.  We’re going to try to start anew and give you what you love.”  I think this is great news.  Of course, cynical Mr. Reticent said that they could just be saying what they know we want to hear, but I believe some of what she says.  She has a tough job of making these movies as good as possible.  There’s going to be a bit of a recovery here since I think that some fans and average movie goers were jaded by the Prequels.  Quotes from her talk:

kathleen kennedy CEU

  1. “It’s a conversation we’re having all the time in the development of Episode VII. Looking at all the Star Wars movies and getting a feel for what even some of the early films did, combining real locations and special effects – that’s something we’re looking very seriously at.”
  2. “The story and characters are all we’re talking about right now.  We have an amazing team at ILM, who can create fantastic effects, but if we don’t have a great story and characters, the effects mean nothing.”
  3. “I do think making huge popular culture – and I’ve had the good fortune to be a part of a lot it – is really hard to do and get right. And if you don’t spend the time you need on developing characters, and finding stories, complicated stories, the audience gets tired because they think they’re seeing the same thing again and again.”
  • Dave Filoni and team debuted some concept art on the Star Wars Rebels TV show.  The show now has an official logo, along with some drawings of ships that are getting closer to what we resemble from the OT.  However, the Stormtrooper looks like a Stormtrooper to me with only the addition of a few blue lines on the helmet.  Show is still scheduled to be released in 2014 on Disney XD (actually, first episode will be on Disney Channel, with the rest of the series being on XD).  Doesn’t this concept art remind you of McQuarrie?  http://bit.ly/13pVb6b
  • Finally, at the closing ceremonies they announced the next Celebration in the US!  Get ready…drumroll…April 16-18th, 2015 in Anaheim, CA.  Oh.  Well, that sucks.  I’m on the East Coast and was really hoping it would be in Orlando again, just because that still seemed to make sense with the Disney thing.  Sigh.  However – it is on a long weekend AND right before VII comes out in theaters in May, so I’m sure that there was some strategic thinking behind all this.  They want to get as many fans out there as possible and hype up VII as much as they can.

Ok, whoo, that’s a lot to take in from one convention…which leads to the next speculation revolving around the D23 Expo.  Lucasfilm/KK/Star Wars/Disney decided not to have a presence at San Diego Comic Con and instead opted to be present at Disney’s “ultimate fan event”/convention.  ThisD23 was a surprise to many people (though we really should have seen it coming) and now everyone is wondering: what will they announce regarding Episode VII?  I’m thinking it will be an announcement that Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, and Harrison Ford are returning, though that’s already obvious and Lucas basically spilled the beans on it by mistake already.  Perhaps they will have one other casting announcement from the casting call that was released earlier, but I don’t think they will announce a bunch of new characters.  That seems too fast.  However – my money is on some kind of casting announcement, with the three original characters definitely being announced.

Thoughts anyone?

And now, you are free to stop reading, but I figured I would give a little personal update at the end of this post.

  1. I reached my one year anniversary of blogging on WordPress last week.  The good thing is that I still love WordPress and it’s exactly what I was looking for when we were kicked out of starwars.com Hyperspace.  Wordy blogs (no pun intended) are common enough here that I don’t feel like at times I am writing too much.  The cons are that it’s been a lot harder for me to find followers or find blogs that I’m interested in following.  I had it easy on starwars.com when everyone was there for Star Wars.  But at the same time – I like a challenge and though I naively thought I could gain as many followers as fast as I did before, I like the idea of slowly but steadily gaining followers.  It almost feels more satisfying because I know that people are choosing to read about my point of view on Star Wars out of millions of other blogs about parenting, art, photography, sports, etc.
  2. My mother dropped off tons of Star Wars stuff a few months ago that I had from when I was a child up to when I moved out of the house.  I put it in my basement with plans on creating a small Star Wars devoted section down there this winter.  Wellllllllll…my basement flooded last week.    So much of my Star Wars stuff was ruined that my heart broke.  Some of it was cheap stuff that I didn’t care as much about anymore, but then some things (like my 3D Millennium Falcon puzzle that took me SO long to put together when I was younger) were completely ruined.  My cardboard standup of Luke Skywalker has a 6″ watermark on his feet, but I’m hoping that he’ll recover and I will be able to keep him standing tall (pun intended).  I still have a lot of stuff to sift through and see what was ruined and what wasn’t.  I’m worried by the time I get to it, a lot of it will have mold and can’t be saved anyway.  THE TRIALS OF HOMEOWNERSHIP CONTINUES.
  3. I am finally going to get my tattoo.  I came to the decision a few months ago and realized, “Well, damn, I’m not getting any younger and there are not many years left that I can wear bikini’s and have people see it.”  I’m getting the tattoo I always wanted, the most standard one of Star Wars fans: the Rebel Insignia.  I was holding back because I kept wondering if I would still love Star Wars enough when I got it.  And then it hit me that I had been saying that for 15 years!  If I’ve liked Star Wars for 15 years and my obsession hasn’t gone away, then I’m quite fine with getting a tattoo declaring my love.  It’s going to be on my ribs on the right hand size and probably just the size of a quarter (my husband strongly disagreed with this and said it should be a lot bigger, but whatever, it’s my tattoo not his) and in black (yes, I do know that the Rebel Insignia is red) so that it MIGHT be seen when I wear a bikini.  I’m excited!  I’m 99% sure I won’t regret it, but if I do regret it, then at least it’s in a place no one sees.  Woohoo!

rebel insignia black

And that’s it…

4 thoughts on “Geek Out!

  1. Anaheim might make sense for Disney too, because of Disneyland, rather than Disney World? Their two hub locations here in the states… or, yeah, you could be on to something with the whole having it near Hollywood right before the release thought too.
    Congrats on a year of blogging here on WordPress, and 15 years of loving Star Wars! I hope you like that tattoo once you’ve got it! I’ve always been intrigued by the idea but then end up talking myself out of it.

    • I had been talking myself out of it for a long time too with the thought that I wouldn’t like Star Wars as much when I’m “older” (which I now am) and that I’m not a “legit” Star Wars fan. But I realized that there is no “legit” Star Wars fan. Sure, people may know more than me about it, but that doesn’t mean my love is any less. And then…I can’t explain it…something just shifted in my brain and I wanted the tattoo. It helps that my husband has 7 tattoos! Yikes. Only reason I don’t have it now is that it needs to stay out of the sun and you can’t swim much with them, so tattoo’s in the summer aren’t the best idea. Hopefully in September! I’ll make sure to post a pic when I do get it.

      • Sounds good to me! The one idea I had that keeps coming back to me is a turntable, on my shoulderblade, probably left side. I love music, and the turntable embodies that love – it’s classic, and cool, and was a tool during my dj’ing years. It makes sense. Still, I don’t think I’ll ever get it. Or, maybe that thing hasn’t shifted in my brain yet…

  2. Oooh I was so stoked to have John Williams confirmed! I’m so sorry about all your Star Wars stuff, that would kill me 😦 And I think a Rebel crest tattoo sounds like an awesome idea!

Use Your Comlink...

