Grievances

[There are minor spoilers regarding the second Hunger Games book/movie, so I would suggest not reading this if you know nothing about the plot regarding Catching Fire.]

I do hope everyone had a great May the 4th!  Alas, I did not do anything too exciting except go to a Bruins playoff party.  However – I forced everyone to eat my Star Wars sugar cookies and drank beer from a ROTJ glass.  Small victories for me as I was the only huge Star Wars fan that night amid many hockey fans.  My sister also bought me some Star Wars presents, which is so kind considering she is not a big fan like I am.  Did anyone else do anything fabulous?  I already heard what Mark did (play Star Wars video games on Playstation…awesome), but feel free to let me know how you celebrated, albeit in a small way like I did or in a massive watch-the-entire-saga-three-times way.

2013-05-04 17.46.33-1                        2013-05-04 19.24.31                       2013-05-05 18.06.26

When I was 12, I sent good ol’ Georgie a long letter about how much I loved Star Wars, but also included a list of all these continuity issues that he would have to address in Episode II and III.  It ranged from bringing stormtroopers into the movies (we had yet to meet the clone troopers) to the little mouse droids (MSE droid) we see in the first Death Star.  Was he going to somehow bring in the mouse droids? Those damn mouse droids are important!  I’m not sure anyone noticed – but they are in Episode III on Mustafar and I would like to think it’s because of my letter (it’s not).

(Grievance #1) I mentioned to him the ships of Episode I on my list of items to address.  They were so sleek and modern looking; how was he going to convert them into the huge, clunky looking ships of the Original Trilogy?

I’m not sure he addressed that one so well.  He definitely showed a transition; don’t get me wrong, I’m not arguing that.  But compare the Naboo starships of Episode I to the ships of IV.

nubian                                             millenium falcon

Isn’t the Empire at the height of its power during ANH?  I mean, they built a freaking space station that blows up an entire planet…you have to have a lot of money to do that.  True, the Republic had years of wealth that it was sitting on, but didn’t the Empire just adopt that when they took over?  And then didn’t they squeeze even more out of helpless star systems through their dictatorship?  I know there’s so much more information on this in the EU, but I’m trying to think this through using common sense.

[Mr. Reticent just argued back at me saying that though they have a lot of wealth, they choose not to share it and the state has usurped all the resources.]

(Grievance #2) Speaking of the Death Star, it has always irked me that there was a second Death Star in ROTJ.  I know it’s such a minor issue, but c’mon, really?  It kind of lacked originality.  George couldn’t even think of a different name!

It’s similar to Catching Fire, the second Hunger Games novel.  I loved the first Hunger Games novel, LOVED it.  I was so eager to read Catching Fire and when I found out that there was basically going to be the same thing at the end of the book, I was oddly disappointed and confused.  Really, Suzanne Collins, really?  You couldn’t think of anything better to do with the second book?  You had to create ANOTHER novel with basically the same plot?  Okay, so the last three pages are a little different, but I remember being miffed at the end of the second novel.

It’s the same feeling I had when I was reading the opening crawl of ROTJ.  I got excited because Lucas made it sound just different enough from the first Death Star that you thought this could be some completely new and scary weapon.

“…Little does Luke know that the GALACTIC EMPIRE has secretly begun construction on a new armored space station even more powerful than the first dreaded Death Star. When completed, this ultimate weapon will spell certain doom for the small band of Rebels struggling to restore freedom to the galaxy…”

second death star

It’s just disheartening when you see that the this “armored space station even more powerful than the first dreaded Death Star” is, in fact, the Death Star all over again.  I mean, it’s not like I couldn’t enjoy the movie because of this, but I remember being jilted out of the movie when I saw it was the same thing.

(Grievance #3)  Before the prequels came out, Luke had some great lines when he first landed on Dagobah that led you to believe there was something more to the planet and Yoda than was let on in the movies.

For instance, when he first helps out R2-D2 after he is spit out of the Dragonsnake (I think that’s what it is), he says, “Oh, Artoo, what are we doing here? It’s like…something out of a dream, or, I don’t know.”  Okay, not too much to go on off of that sentence, but then when they set up camp right before Yoda appears, he says, “Still…there’s something familiar about this place. I feel like…I don’t know…”  I really want to know what he feels like!  And no, I don’t think he felt like he was being watched.

Luke and Artoo on Dagobah

Why was Dagobah familiar?  He pretty much gives two references on why it seems like he had been there before.  This was one of the mysteries I was DYING to have explained in the prequels.  Even when I was watching Episode III for the first time, I thought to myself, “Here it is!  Yoda is going to take Luke to Dagobah for a few years before taking him to Tatooine.”  Ummmm…no.  Didn’t happen.  No explanation.  Am I the only one completely hung up on these lines?

(Grievance #4) I promise this is the last one, but it’s also probably the worst one in my book.  Along the lines of my previous grievance, Leia talks about her mother like she actually knew her or had spent time with her.  In ROTJ, script goes as follows:

LUKE: Leia… do you remember your mother? Your real mother?

LEIA: Just a little bit. She died when I was very young.

LUKE: What do you remember?

LEIA: Just…images, really. Feelings.

LUKE: Tell me.

LEIA: She was very beautiful. Kind, but…sad.

Luke and leia discussing mother

Well.  I think we all know what I am going to say.  Unless Leia has amazing memory and sight when she is five seconds old, there is no way she could remember her mother.

Yes – I realize you can blame this all on the Force and say that when Padme was pregnant, Leia picked up on images and feelings in the womb.  Not buying it.  Couldn’t we leave Padme alive even a littttttle longer just so that these lines make sense?  No, we couldn’t, because then Anakin would probably sense her, or God forbid, dream of her and how she’s alive (lol).  But it just doesn’t match up with what Leia says in ROTJ and this is probably my biggest grievance, because I can’t believe this whole Force-osmosis-womb-thing.

Okay, this was another essay from me.  If you made it through – high five!  I tried not to make it sound like I was complaining, but I’m not sure if that worked.

7 thoughts on “Grievances

  1. I wrote an entire essay on all 6 movies a couple of years ago that still generates a fair amount of traffic for me, if you’re interested… http://stuphblog.wordpress.com/2011/08/03/nonsensicalness-and-other-inconsistencies-in-the-star-wars-movies/

    I’ve been watching the Clone Wars series and finding even more nonsensical things in there that add inconsistencies between Episodes II and III. George, who should know his baby better than his fans, has a problem remembering what he’s done in his own universe. In that respect, I’m glad Disney has it. In others, not so much.

    • Oh man, there was so much I wanted to go into with this blog post, but I tried to keep it as short as possible. You don’t know how much I actually deleted! I tried to just stick to points that resonated with me as a child and that I was hoping George would help make sense of with the Prequels (other than the Death Star II moment), but then failed to do so.
      And thanks for sharing your post! I was looking through your blog the other day, but didn’t find this post, so I’m glad it’s here. I’ll read it right now and comment.

  2. I had the same problem with Catching Fire. I read the first half with excitement, and then the twist happens, and I was thinking, “Again?”. I skimmed through most of it.
    As for the Second Death Star, I do understand people’s dislike of it. However, I always accepted it as “Bigger, badder, and impenetrable.” Whereas the first has a fatal flaw, the second is being built more carefully. If it is completed, the Empire can use it to wreak the destruction that the first one’s short-lived existence did not allow it to do.
    Also, it could be argued, the Emperor had the second Death Star built so the rebellion would think the Empire’s engineers were doofuses and had no creativity. To reference Admiral Ackbar, the whole Battle of Endor is a trap.

    • IT’S A TRAP! I love it.

      Good points on Death Star II. I think my problem was that my imagination got the better of me, as usual, and I was trying to imagine something so much worse than the first Death Star. All I could think was, “What is the Empire possibly going to create that will trump the first Death Star?!” And then…oh. A second Death Star. Ok.

  3. Pingback: Scene it on Friday – ROTS Scene #239 | Star Wars Anonymous

  4. Pingback: Friday Fives: You Upset Me | Star Wars Anonymous

Use Your Comlink...

