That Special Something

You know when you grow up, sometimes you have that “special something” that you hold so dear to you because it reminds you of a time or place or moment?

For instance, I have a Pink Blankie that I’ve had since I was a baby and YES I still sleep with her.  I am, at times, thoroughly embarrassed by this, but at the same time weirdly proud.  She no longer travels with me, but I will occasionally (ok, maybe every night) still sleep with her.  There’s something about wrapping my arms around her that is so comforting.  My husband vacillates between being amused and annoyed, but I can’t help it.  I’ve tried many times to give her up with statements such as, “I’ll stop sleeping with her when I go to college.”  Nope, didn’t work.  “I’ll stop sleeping with her when I get married.”  Almost worked, but ultimately failed.  The only reason why she 2013-04-10 22.12.40doesn’t travel with me is because once I decided to put her in my luggage and my luggage got lost for a while.  Oh man, I was freaking out.  After that, I realized I would have to start putting her in my carry-on.  Well, that worked out okay, except that it made my carry-on really bulky and it couldn’t fit under the seat in front of me.  And then the blanket would sometimes get stuck in the zipper of the backpack and would destroy some of it, which is unforgivable.  So I figured for her safety, it’s best that she stay home.  The worst part is that I don’t miss her that much when I’m traveling and she’s not with me.  I thought the first time that I would fall apart, but I didn’t.  I adapt just fine, so I’m unsure why I can’t just put her away in a box at home.  Right now, my new statement is “I’ll stop sleeping with her when I have a baby.”  I’m hoping this reasoning will work more because then I can transfer something that I once had onto my child and then it will be a generational thing.  I then reason that the child will hopefully not grow up like me and she will grow out of sleeping with Pink Blankie, at which point I will be able to put her away in a box because I’ll probably be too embarrassed to show my child that I’m sleeping with HER Pink Blankie and I will have had enough separation by that point to be okay with it.

Apologies – long confession there.  I must have some deep rooted psychological issues regarding attachment.  Or I just like Pink Blankie.

However, the whole reason for these thoughts was that I was trying to think of my first Special Something that had to do with Star Wars.  Believe it or not – I actually think it was these two puzzles (ESB and ROTJ) by RoseArt that I found at Ocean State Job Lot.  For those not from New England, Ocean State Job Lot is an interesting store.  You find lots of weird mismatched items at discounted items and it’s always a surprise when you walk in there.

RoseArt ESB puzzle                                RoseArt ROTJ puzzle

I found those two puzzles and became obsessed.  I put on the Star Wars soundtracks and worked hard on completing them as fast as possible (those were the days when summer vacation meant nothing to do every day for three months).  I still remember my record – it took me 7 hours and 42 minutes to complete my Return of the Jedi puzzle…18 minutes shy of a full office work day!  It ended up turning into a tradition and I took apart these puzzles at the end of the summer and would take them out again the following summer.  Sometimes I would try to do them all in one day, sometimes I would stretch it out.

Usually we associate Special Something’s as an object of the past the holds a special memory attached to it.  The puzzles help me relive the days when I was falling in love with Star Wars during my adolescence and the long summer days that seemed to stretch infinitely before me.

However, I’m beginning to realize that Special Something’s don’t always have to do with the past.  They can be recent as well.  I have two new Star Wars Special Something’s that make me so excited: my Star Wars pajama pants and my Star Wars t-shirt.

The pajama pants were bought on a whim at Wal-Mart about 1.5 years ago in the boys section and they are my FAVORITE pants.  I love them so much.  They are so comfortable and whenever I put them on, I get such an extreme feeling of comfort that I want to cuddle up in bed.  There are tons of different panels on the pants of different characters and scenes that I could stare at it for hours.  Bravo Wal-Mart on such awesome PJ pants!

Yes, those are Chewbacca slippers that I'm wearing

Yes, those are Chewbacca slippers that I’m wearing

The second Special Something is a bright red t-shirt that has Princess Leia pointing a gun at the viewer and it says “Don’t mess with the princess” in large letters.  My husband got it for me last year as a wedding anniversary gift.  He was really unsure if he should get it for me because he says he feels like Star Wars gifts are a “cop out” because they’re too easy…but honestly he can’t be more wrong.  This t-shirt now always reminds me of him and, like the PJ’s, is very comfortable.

2013-04-10 18.18.16

So I just rambled through my Special Somethings – does anyone else have any that are near and dear to your heart?  Star Wars or otherwise?

Or you can even confess (like I did above) about something that you still haven’t gotten rid of but probably should have a long time ago?  I promise we won’t judge!

9 thoughts on “That Special Something

  1. I, too, have an ages-old comfort item. My grandmother constructed a small pillow for me when I went off to college in 1979. It was soft but also, feather-filled, had a good amount of heft.

    It also had this great blood-red color, punctuated with these Navajo/Sino inkspots that looked like the “Bam” and “Bang” balloons from Batman comics or TV show.

    Because of its appearance and ability for easy transport in the field (if you will) it became my primary sleeping mate but-moreover-my weapon of choice when we had dorm “Hall battles” in which the object was to somehow maim or at least cause groin disruption by whatever means possible.

    My pillow was a perfect implement for this. I could swing it at the face to cause someone to back and cover their eyes, and then balletically swoop it up and into an underhand arc to then strike directly and potently into the testicular region in almost a single combo action.

    As a result, my beloved pillow became feared and known as “The Ball Buster.”

    I have it still, to this day.

    I still sleep with it every night.

    The years and abuse required that I created a new material/cover for it, but otherwise it is unchanged.

    It is an elegant weapon from a more civilized time. And that is why I do not fail.

    • That makes me feel so much better. But, in a sense, you’re totally enabling me to keep sleeping with Pink Blankie even though I feel like I should have moved on by now.
      I, too, have new material on Pink Blankie….but it never got a nickname like yours. It is, and always will be, Pink Blankie.

      • DO NOT feel bad. Love it; embrace it. We are what and who we love. And in loving those things we radiate what resonates to others. Do not shut a faucet that trickles such affection, ever….

  2. You’ll appreciate this.

    I had a teddy bear I used to carry around everywhere. Before that, I had a bunny. The bunny fell onto a furnace and melted – my first taste of loss. The teddy bear was its replacement and I kept it for years. At some point, my mother got hold of it and hid it away, thinking that I would throw it away.

    A few years ago, for Christmas, she gave me a new teddy bear in Jedi clothes from Build-A-Bear.

    Catch: It’s stuffed with my old nasty teddy bear … creepy much?

    I won’t tell you about the plaque she made to commemorate its rebirth.

    • Oh my goodness! She stuffed it with your old teddy bear…wow. I don’t know if that makes me laugh with delight or cringe because I’m not sure how dirty it is. But it gives me ideas to just keep continuously sewing over Pink Blankie and creating new Blankies. Lol. I do like how your teddy bear is in Jedi Clothes though.

      But c’mon, you can’t leave your last sentence hanging like that! What did the plaque say??

  3. Mine is a purple cat called Felix. He was my first ever stuffed toy and cost $10 which was $5 more than Mum and Dad paid for me – I am adopted and the processing fee back then was $5. Felix still comes out now and then when I am feeling down and need to cuddle something. I wouldn’t feel bad about travelling with blankie. When I deployed overseas I took a few stuffed toys with me to remind me of home.

    • That does make me feel better! All this encouragement makes me happy and not so crazy. Did anyone make fun of you for having the stuffed toys when you were deployed? I keep thinking people will make fun of me with Pink Blankie, but so far no one has other than my family and husband occasionally.

  4. No one made fun of me. It is amazing the stuff people take away with them to remind them of home when they are in a far off place.

Use Your Comlink...

