Goodbye to The Clone Wars

It’s one thing to guess and speculate that The Clone Wars might be ending after the season finale where Ahsoka left the Jedi Order…but it’s another thing to know it won’t be returning.

And so today we received the news that ended, The Clone Wars has.  Or, as I like to say, it was given Order 66.

The Clone Wars helped me leave my little shell of Star Wars purity.  When the series began, I refused to watch it and refused to acknowledge it.  The fact that Anakin had a padawan angered me so much that I would speak scathingly about the series whenever someone brought it up.

I know I’ve mentioned this before, but I started watching TCW when I was bored with TV and flipping through the guide.  There was a rerun on and I watched Ahsoka and Anakin battle someone in this weird fantasy-like planet.  I can’t even remember the episode now, but I was so starved for anything Star Wars that I reluctantly was drawn into it.  I believe I started watching in either Season 2 or Season 3.

Well, guess what?  I started to DVR the episodes and before you knew it, I was hooked and actually ended up loving Anakin’s padawan: Ahsoka.

The Clone Wars says goodbye

The Clone Wars says goodbye

TCW not only grabbed my attention but it helped catapult Ashley Eckstein (voice of Ahsoka) into a business primarily for fan girls.  She helped lend strength to us geek girls with her company Her Universe: a clothing site full of Star Wars, Star Trek, Battlestar Galactica, Dr. Who, and much more geeky wonderfulness.  She recognized the need to create merchandise for female sci-fi fans and it has since skyrocketed.  What started out as one business devoted to Star Wars clothing expanded to other sci-fi franchises, but it’s also paved the way for other websites and stores to create geeky, fitted clothing for women/girls.  I’ve noticed an increase in women’s sci-fi clothing ever since Ashley started her company.  I do hope she continues expanding Her Universe, though I don’t see why she wouldn’t.

Ashley Eckstein

Ashley Eckstein

So what’s happening now?  Lucasfilm said it was “exploring a whole new ‘Star Wars’ series set in a time period previously untouched in ‘Star Wars’ films or television programming.”  They said there would be more details in future months.  They also mentioned that “Star Wars Detours” is also delayed (perhaps never to see the light, in my opinion) because “Detours was conceived and produced before we decided to move forward with the new Star Wars trilogy, and in the wake of that decision, Lucasfilm has reconsidered whether launching an animated comedy prior to the launch of Episode VII makes sense.”

When we first found out that Disney was acquiring Lucasfilm, I briefly touched upon TCW and Detours and what that would mean for both series.  I thought that maybe it would move to Disney XD.  Now we see that is not the case, but I’m sure this new Star Wars series will be on Disney XD.  Back in October, I checked to see if we had Disney XD.  We do!  Phew, so I guess I can follow the new series from the beginning this time around.

The only point of confusion for me is that it looks like this new series may be animated as well.  I wish they would just move TCW to Disney XD, but if this is not to be the case, what are they going to do?  There are tons of options, but I was kind of hoping for someone to finally say that we are going to see the live action TV show.  We can still hope right?  Though that may be more likely to show up on ABC.

So many changes going on in our Star Wars world!  Just have to hold on and enjoy the ride as best as possible.

Official starwars.com announcement of the Clone Wars departure: http://starwars.com/news/a-new-direction-for-lucasfilm-animation.html

A goodbye post from James Arnold Taylor (voice of Obi-Wan Kenobi in TCW): http://jamesarnoldtaylor.com/jamesarnoldtaylor.com/Clone_Wars_Thoughts.html

Her Universe: http://www.heruniverse.com/

2 thoughts on “Goodbye to The Clone Wars

  1. I think this marks the end (at least for now) of the space-ship based TV shows, which is a shame. I’ve caught the odd episode of Clone Wars and found myself wishing that the recent movies were told in a similar style.

    • Isn’t it sad that spaceship based TV shows tend to be canceled at the wrong time! I’m actually just thinking of Firefly, but I guess TCW falls into this now too.
      However, we still have Dr. Who, which is kind of spaceshipish? Though that’s not what I would think of right away. And I’m sure the SyFy channel has tons of spaceship shows, but they are less than impressive.
      Lucasfilm did say another TV show is in the works though, so you never know – we may see another good sci-fi show soon.

Use Your Comlink...

