Scene it on Friday – TPM Scene #106

Why do I keep getting lightsaber scenes?  So weird!  Maybe random.org is rigged or knows what I’m using it for.  I sense a disturbance in the Force…

Notice the differences between Obi-Wan and Qui-Gon.  The scene starts with Qui-Gon meditating.  Qui-Gon is trying to bring himself at peace, tap into the Force and let him connect with the light side.  He is practicing patience and perhaps steeling himself for the fact that he might die?  I’m sure it’s a possibility that has entered his head.

Juxtapose this against Obi-Wan who is being described as being “frustrated” by being trapped by the laser gates, as I know I would be too.  In the movie we see him waiting furiously and even ignites his lightsaber before the gates open.  I’m sure that he also realizes one or both of them could die in their battle against Darth Maul.

Though Obi-Wan is young, perhaps he should have followed Qui-Gon’s example and mediated as well.  It could have centered him for the possibilities of what was ahead.  (Personally, I don’t see how anyone can meditate 2 feet away from Darth Maul, so I totally feel for Obi-Wan.)

Also, interestingly, George Lucas cannot decide if he wants to refer to Darth Maul as a Dark Lord or a Sith.  Which of course has led me down the merry lane of delving into the EU and finding out…what is the difference between a Sith or Sith Lord versus a Dark Lord of the Sith?  Given the way their titles are written, I assume Sith is anyone who had mastery of the Dark Side, like a Jedi/Jedi Knight, and Dark Lord is perhaps more like the equivalent of a Jedi Master.  Now, I’m not being an overly picky fan here who’s getting her knickers in a twist because Georgie used two different labels.  I’m not like that.  We all know what he means; I’m just curious.

Wookiepedia is telling me that Dark Lord of the Sith refers to the “recognized leader of the Order of the Sith Lords” and it is not synonymous with the title of “Darth.”  Sith Lord was a title “conferred on a powerful master of Sith knowledge of the dark side.”  Sith just referred to any species that have Force sensitivities but use it for the dark side.

Ok…so I was kind of close.  Jedi do not have the equivalent of a Dark Lord as I assume that would disrupt the light side of the Force too much.  One person in control of all the Jedi seems too selfish and could be easily swayed by their power.  Instead they have the Jedi Master rank, which anyone can attain as long as you are skilled and have enough balance in the Force.  Oh, and you get to sit on the Council.  The Sith function more like a dictatorship whereas the Jedi are more like a democracy, if we are just going to go surface level with the analysis.

So George screwed up the terms a little when writing the script because Darth Maul is definitely not a Dark Lord.  However, it led me down a road of discovery and that’s what I love about this blog…I’m always learning new things that either I once knew (as in this case) and have forgotten, or am learning for the first time.

Star Wars is so big and I love that one movie has created a universe (literally) that just keeps expanding with new stories and information.  Though I was angry at Lucasfilm yesterday for the Jedi Code fact that seemed unrealistic, I do love this universe and how much I learn every week.

Picture courtesy of Dreamland Apparel

Picture courtesy of Dreamland Apparel

INTERIOR: THEED – POWER GENERATOR ELECTRIC BEAM – HALLWAY

 The electric rays cycle as QUI-GON sits meditating. The wall of the deadly rays turn away, and OBI-WAN starts running toward QUI-GON and the DARK LORD. When the wall between QUI-GON and DARTH MAUL opens, QUI-GON is in a split second fighting the DARK LORD with a ferocity not seen before. They move into the area at the end of the corridor called the melting pit, a small area that is mostly made up of a deep hole.

 The electron ray gates begin to close. OBI-WAN tries to make it to the melting pit but is caught one gate short. He slides to a stop just before he hits the deadly electron field.

 QUI-GON and DARTH MAUL battle around the melting pit as a frustrated OBI-WAN watches.

 DARTH MAUL catches QUI-GON off guard. The SITH makes a quick move, bashes his lightsaber handle into QUI-GON’s chin, and runs him through. QUI-GON slumps to the floor in a heap.

 

4 thoughts on “Scene it on Friday – TPM Scene #106

  1. It’s interesting to me how the ideas that we, the fans, poor over and try to define rigidly are still pretty loose in George’s head at the scripting stage. The idea of what a Dark Lord is compared to a Sith are just synonyms for him at this point. It reminds me of what Anne Lamott says about writing that you need to let yourself write “shitty first drafts”. Thats always tricky for me. My writing is constantly getting stuck on the trivial details.

    Anyway, I had a big week of Star Wars news unrelated to this post. First, for a brief moment I wept for the chance to see a Star Wars world that will never be. I heard that Guillermo Del Toro was offered the Episode VII directing gig, but was too busy to take it. That’s no surprise. GDT always has more projects on the table than he has time to do, but I can imagine how awesome his take on Star Wars could have been. Pan’s Labyrinth and the Hellboy movies are among some of my favorites, and if you’ve seen the Pacific Rim trailer, I’m pretty stoked for that one.

    But then I read this article about the Star Wars TV show: http://www.slashfilm.com/abc-will-consider-lucasfilm-tv-options-including-live-action-star-wars-series/

    There may be “a new hope” in that project taking off. I hadn’t realized the expense of bringing that show to the small screen included licensing fees for LucasFilm, now with Disney owning LucasFilm and ABC that’s effectively nullified.

    And finally, I ended up downloading the audiobook for Star Wars: Scoundrels today! So, there should be a review forthcoming… 🙂

  2. I think my problem with writing is that I write shitty first drafts and never get any further! lol. I’m so proud of myself for writing that I just let it go after that.

    I actually don’t mind Del Toro not taking over Star Wars. I loved Pan’s Labyrinth and I was upset when he gave up The Hobbit, but I don’t know – I guess I can’t really see him in the Star Wars universe.

    Seeing that article you sent me made me so happy…only because I had speculated about whether ABC would be able to host a Star Wars TV show in my post when Disney took over Lucasfilm. Keep your eyes open for when they are accepting audition tapes, lol. I’ll totally send one in.

    If you want to write a big review on Scoundrels, be my guest. I will post it in your name on my blog. Another follower of this blog (epicipseity) writes book reviews on his blog all the time and he’s quite good at them. Since I don’t read EU, I would welcome someone else reviewing and writing. Just a suggestion! No pressure. Either way, I’d still like to know what you think of the book.

  3. Wow. There’s been a lot going on here since the last time I stopped by. So I’ll use this reply to rattle off a few thoughts on the past few posts.

    First off, congratulations on closing on a house! Best of luck on the move.

    Second, I read the article on Tor, and while I can see the argument, I don’t completely agree with it. It’s one thing to film an “abstract visual tone poem” and quite another to make a big budget summer blockbuster. And that is doubtless how the Star Wars movies are presented not only by the studios but Lucas himself has become party to the fanfare. I’m a pretty big fan of independent film, and can forgive quite a few flaws in the pursuit of innovative filmmaking, but that’s usually because the imaginations of those involved stretches beyond the technical and budgetary restraints they are working with. Lucas didn’t have those constraints. He was using the cutting edge of technology and filmmaking and his story and characters suffer. Sure the film looks (mostly) great, and if the goal was to create a tone poem in a sci-fi environment, he should have stopped there. American audiences would have had difficulty consuming a film with little to no dialogue with more emotive resonance than actual story, but it would have hued closer to George’s vision, despite the decrease in box office sales. As it stands, the Prequels are lesser than that vision could have been, because stilted dialogue and a contrived story distract the viewer from the original vision.

    Finally, back to the contents of the discussion here. I know what you’re saying about GDT. He has a distinctive visual style, but I still would have been fascinated to see one of my favorite directors play around in my favorite far, far away galaxy. Fingers crossed about the Star Wars show; I’ll try to keep you posted! 😉 And… I would be honored to do a “guest” review on your blog! I just finished the book this weekend and it was good, a few flaws but mostly a fun trip. I can write something up this week, and maybe it could help fill-in during this busy period. Just let me know how to get the review to you…

  4. Nathan – I think you are having a hard time separating the visual from the dialogue which is exactly what Ms. Asher-Perrin was trying to argue. Or more what Ms. Paglia was originally arguing. I know Lucas didn’t have constraints, but it doesn’t mean he didn’t have a stylistic approach he was going for. Ms. Asher-Perrin is trying to take you outside the realm of Earth and just look at the film as a visual, not in the context of when it was released, how much money the director had, etc. I know it’s hard to separate all of this but I think she makes a compelling argument.

    I’m thrilled you want to do a guest review! I think that’s great…I wouldn’t mind it even if I wasn’t busy. EU is something this blog lacks.
    I will email you with all the info I need.

Use Your Comlink...

