Insider Results for 2012

I’m not sure how many of you actually receive the Star Wars Insider magazine, but I love it.  It’s always full of inspiration and they have come a long way from where it used to be.  I think they got a new Editor-in-Chief, Jonathan Wilkins, in the past few years and he’s done a great job of transforming Insider.  I stopped subscribing about five years ago because I couldn’t stand how everything in the magazine had turned into The Clone Wars.  Thankfully, the Insider is now a lot more balanced and has a lot from every bit of the Star Wars universe.  In every issue, they also have an outtake from an upcoming Expanded Universe novel which I, surprisingly, like to read.  I give each outtake mental ratings on whether or not I would read the novel if I had all the time in the world.  There are interviews never seen before, trivia quizzes, and sections devoted to collectibles.  I would suggest picking it up because it really does have something for everyone.

Anyway, the Insider has started an annual Star Wars Insider Awards, where you can go and vote as a fan for your “favorites”.  This year, it ranged anywhere from favorite movies to books and I thought I would share their results as a fan to the fans, for those who don’t receive the magazine.  I’m always interested to see what the majority of Star Wars fans voted and whether or not you agree with them.  So without further ado:

Favorite Villain from a Star Wars movie

Darth Vader, 38.6%

Boba Fett, 18.2%

Darth Maul, 15.1%

Palpatine/Sidious, 11.2%

General Grievous, 7.6%

Favorite Hero from a Star Wars Movie:

Obi-Wan Kenobi, 20%

Han Solo, 18.9%

Luke Skywalker, 18.6%

Yoda, 11.7%

Anakin Skywalker, 10.3%

I definitely remember picking Luke Skywalker for this round.  Luke is the definition of a Hero!  I get Obi-Wan and all, but I don’t see why Han Solo is in second place.  Honestly, he almost deserted the Rebellion in ANH.

Favorite Star Wars moment:

“No, I am your Father”, 31.6%

Order 66, 24.4%

Obi-Wan and Qui-Gon vs Darth Maul, 15.7%

Attack on the Death Star (episode IV), 13.9%

Death of the Emperor, 13.1%

Favorite Star Wars Movie:

Empire Strikes Back, 36.1%

Revenge of the Sith, 23.1%

Return of the Jedi, 16.7%

A New Hope, 14.3%

Attack of the Clones, 5.5%

This surprised me.  First, that Revenge of the Sith came in second place, and secondly, that A New Hope is further down than I believed it would be.  I guess I assumed there would be enough older fans to place each OT movie as the top three.  Lastly, I’m sad The Phantom Menace didn’t garner enough votes to even make it on the list and that the pathetic, dismal Attack of the Clones is ahead of TPM.

Favorite Episode of Star Wars: The Clone Wars Season Four Battle Lines (2011-2012):

Episode 22 “Revenge” 28.8%

Episode 10 “Carnage of Krell” 12.5%

Episode 20 “Bounty” 7.6%

Episode 21 “Brothers” 6.8%

Episode 17 “The Box” 5.9%

I voted for Carnage of Krell so I’m happy that it made it to second place.  The whole Darth Maul storyline in TCW is not winning me over at all.  I think this vote was rigged by TCW creators.  Kidding, but it’s a possibility to entertain 😉

Favorite Novel (2011/2012):

Star Wars: Darth Plagueis by James Luceno, 28.7%

Heir to the Empire anniversary edition by Timothy Zahn, 19.5%

Fate of the Jedi Series by Troy Denning, Christie Golden, and Aaron Allston, 13.5%

The Old Republic Series by Paul S. Kemp, Drew Karpyshyn, 10.2%

Choices of One by Timothy Zahn, 9.0%

I know for a fact that I voted for Heir to the Empire anniversary edition because it’s the only series I’ve read.  However, I’ve only heard good things about the Plagueis book.

Favorite Non-Fiction Book (2011/2012):

Star Wars Character Encyclopedia by Simon Beecroft, 21.6%

Star Wars: the Essential Guide to Warfare by Jason Fry, 18.0%

The Jedi Path: A Manual for Students of the Force by Daniel Wallace, 15.0%

Millenium Falcon a 3-D Owners Guide by Ryder Windham, 5.6%

Star Wars: the Blueprints, by J.W. Rinzler, 5.5%

Favorite Comic Book Storyline (2011/2012):

Star Wars: Legacy by John Ostrander, 18.8%

Star Wars: Blood Ties: A tale of Jango and Boba Fett by Tom Taylor TIED WITH

Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic-War by John Jackson Miller, both at 13.4%

Star Wars: The Old Republic by Alexander Freed, 12.9%

Star Wars: Dawn of the Jedi by John Ostrander, 7.3%

Favorite Collectible (2011/2012):

Hasbro, the Vintage Collection, 43.2%

EFX Luke Skywalker Reveal Lightsaber, 21.5%

Lego Star Wars Advent Calendar, 20.7%

Sideshow Darth Maul with Mechanical Legs, 12.1%

Gentle Giant, 2.6%

What do you guys think?  Do you agree/disagree with the votes that have been cast?

Happy New Year!

Star Wars Happy New Year

4 thoughts on “Insider Results for 2012

  1. I don’t get Insider, so this list is fresh to me and a little surprising in some ways. I agree with you that surely ANH should have ranked higher. The other part that baffles me is the scene choices. “I am your father” – definitely. Obi and Qui-gon vs. Maul – sure. But, Order 66? I guess it just didn’t resonate with me. There are literally dozens of other scenes I would choose before this one. The escape from the original Death Star. Snowspeeders vs. AT-ATs. Obi-wan vs. Jango. The Battle over Coruscant. Yoda vs. Palpatine. The speeder bike chase through Endor!! The list goes on and on, even Luke’s first lesson in the Force on the Falcon is a scene for me that defines Star Wars, it’s universe and characters, better than, well, most of the Prequels.

    I’m happy to see that Heir to the Empire story still being a fan favorite though. That was one of the best stories in the EU, in my opinion, but I haven’t read a Star Wars novel in ages. Though I recently heard news that may change that. I believe Star Wars: Scoundrels comes out today! Timothy Zahn coming back to Star Wars to tell the story of Han, Chewie, and Lando teaming up for an Ocean’s 11-style heist? Sign me up! What have you heard about the novel?

Use Your Comlink...

