Reflection on 2012

Wow, 2013 is right around the corner.  Does anyone else find this incredible?  Wasn’t it just yesterday that we rang in 2012?  We had a whole new year ahead of us, full of the unknown.

Since the end of the year is a time for reflection and a time to look toward the new year and bring about changes we want to see, I figured I would see what I accomplished in 2012.  I would rather not look at what I didn’t accomplish, or said I would do but never did, because well…it’s not inspiring for me.  And it’s just plain depressing.  With a snowstorm rolling in and snowflakes whirling past my window, I go back in time…

January – I auditioned for a musical for the first time in eight years.  And for the first time in my life, I got rejected from a musical…a new and different experience for me.   Later I realized that not only were my auditioning skills very rusty, it’s also a lot harder to enter a community theater world where everyone knows everyone and you’re an outsider.

February – My husband and I bought our little bird, Peanut.  Peanut is a Parrotlet and absolutely adorable.  I call her my little Pirate Parrotlet because she can sit on my shoulder for hours, just like the parrots in pirate movies, and she won’t move.  She’s not a big fan of being pet (supposedly they’re supposed to love being pet and cuddled with), but she will hang out with us for hours.  In fact, as I write, she is sitting on my husband’s shoulder as he watches a movie.  The day we got Peanut was also the day of the Superbowl that my beloved Patriots were in.  They lost, which I actually expected, but it doesn’t make it any easier to watch.  February also saw the release of The Phantom Menace in 3D.  I went at midnight with Mr. Reticent and almost fell asleep.  I realized then that I should never watch a movie I’ve already seen a million times at midnight.  Midnight showings should be reserved for movies never seen.

Peanut and I

Peanut and I

March – I bought a new bike.  Exciting.  Hunger Games came out in cinemas and I thought it was a great adaptation of the book.  Very pleased.

April – I went to a shooting range for the first time and actually shot a gun.  I am a horrible shot.  Not sure if that’s good or bad.  I also got to see Riverdance when they came to Boston on my birthday.  I have been in love with that show and music since I was a young child and it was a dream come true to see the show.  Even though Michael Flatley is no longer with the troupe, I still loved every minute.

Riverdance

May – Wow, I can really think of nothing exciting happening in my life, and that is severely disappointing.  Wasted month!  Well, I guess the weather was getting warmer so that probably made me in a better mood.

June – I had an idea in my head for a funny Star Wars parody video of “Call Me Maybe”.  After a grueling three weeks of gathering people, equipment and costumes together…all the original people in the video bailed on me the day before we were supposed to shoot the video.  Way to encourage me and then leave me hanging.  Thankfully, my little brother came through and saved the day.  Thank God for teenagers with nothing else to do during the day other than shoot a video.  Excited once again, I shot the video with them the last weekend of June and amazingly, it was all pulled off.

July – I released my parody video on YouTube and presently, it has over 300,000 views.  I have to say I did not expect that.  At all.  I’m amazed and also feel justified that it was a good idea and people found it funny (those who actually watched the whole thing until the very end).  Some of me wanted to stick my tongue out and say “Told you so!” to everyone who left me high and dry in the beginning, but those amount of views are revenge enough, so I’ll try to be an adult.  I also re-started this blog in July.  Very exciting!  It was frustrating at first because on starwars.com, it was so easy to find people to interact with and who liked reading your blog because, well, everyone likes Star Wars on starwars.com.  Now, on WordPress, it’s so much harder to gain followers.  But, bit by bit, my views continue to grow and I now have a few steady followers who continue to inspire me to write (you know who you are – thank you!).

August – Summer wraps up and I went to my awesome country concert.  Enough said.

September – I go on a business trip to Vegas, of all places.  Funnily, the best part of that trip was not Vegas, but the Grand Canyon.  I would go back to it in a second…talk about beautiful.  At some point in my life, I’d like to go back to the Grand Canyon on the Arizona side and hike some of it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

October – The big month when we find out that Disney is acquiring Lucasfilm and that we will have an Episode VII.  Huge news.  Star Wars world erupts.  I also chop off the majority of my hair in this month.

November – My husband and I find and purchase our first house.  Big for our life and we are so excited!

December – Now, looking back on December, I find it slow comparatively to the other months.  Yet it went by so fast.  The Hobbit was released and Middle Earth fans rejoiced.  The holiday season created a whirlwind of days and we are now just recovering and breathing again.

I still haven’t thought of any New Year’s resolutions for 2013, except for perhaps writing shorter blog posts (lol).  Honestly, some of me just thinks that if I can be happy and content next year, I will have had a successful year.  Do I really need resolutions or goals?  Sometimes the best things that happen during a year don’t come from our resolutions but from the spontaneity of little moments: new friends that are made, ideas that generate offshoots of creativity within your life, and enjoying a day where everything went well for no particular reason.

I hope that the Force is with us as we write our way into the new year.  MTFBWY.

One thought on “Reflection on 2012

  1. Pingback: Look at me!, Update, and Scene it on Friday – TPM Scene #85 | Star Wars Anonymous

Use Your Comlink...

