Do You Wish Me a Good Morning or Mean That it is a Good Morning…

…whether I want it or not; that you feel good this morning; or that it is a morning to be good on?  So glad they put this line in the movie because it’s my favorite quote from the Hobbit!

Ok, I’m deviating a little bit from Star Wars here, but I figured I would put in my little review on here of one of my loves: Middle Earth.  If you haven’t read the book or watched the movie yet, you may want to stop reading.

I vacillated back and forth with this movie.  At times, I loved it and was so happy to see Middle Earth again, along with the great sweeping views of the company marching to their destination.  New Zealand was just as stunning as it was in the first trilogy and it made me want to go visit there so badly.  I really liked Martin Freeman as Bilbo and if you’ve read the book – I thought he did a great job of portraying this Hobbit who, you know, just wanted to be at home in his Hobbit hole with a cup of tea but instead gets thrown haphazardly into an adventure.

Jackson did a great job distinguishing between the Dwarves because in the book, I feel like they all blended together and the only thing I remembered was that Kili and Fili were related and that a lot of them had funny sounding names.  Bifur…Bombur… Bofur…What?  Their personalities didn’t stick out to me when I read it, even Thorin didn’t have a personality to me other then wanting to get back his place in the mountain.  However, you still can’t keep track of them in the movieand my husband even said, “He’s gotta start killing off some of them dwarves so I can figure out who they are,” which definitely made me laugh.  Tough luck, Mate, on that one…they all stick around.  At least Jackson made sure they all had different personalities in the movie and it was harder to have them all blend together.

The best scene, easily, was Riddles in the Dark.  I am SO happy PJ did that scene justice.  I’m sure Jackson knew the pressure for that scene, considering how much everyone loves it and Tolkien fans would want nothing but the best Freeman and Serkis.

Riddles in the Dark

Riddles in the Dark

I definitely didn’t mind the added scene of the White Council and I thought I was going to hate it.  It wasn’t in the book, but it is part of the history of Middle Earth.  I can’t speak too much of it since my knowledge of the materials extends only to the Lord of the Rings trilogy and the Hobbit, but I thought the White Council scene definitely added a bit of substance that the movie had been lacking.  Oh!  And!  The Necromancer is apparently Sauron?  I never knew that, but researched it after watching the movie because I wanted to know if the addition of him was legit or just PJ trying to up the drama.  He was briefly mentioned in The Hobbit, but it seemed like it was more in passing and not that important.

But speaking of additions, I did not like the White Orc who apparently is Azog.  He was in the books (appendices maybe?  It’s been a while), but definitely not to the extent he was in this movie.  Don’t get me wrong – I understand why they needed him.  If they are not going to have Smaug factor into this movie, then they need a villain for us to hate.  So I understand why he was there, but I guess I didn’t like the addition.  Perhaps it’s the purist coming out in me.

The movie was also long – and I found that it was too long.  I understand Lord of the Rings was also very long, but it really is the differences between the novels.  Lord of the Rings is a weighty story with the doom of their world always upon them and evil lurking in every corner.  It is chock-full of information and descriptions, so much so that at times I get incredibly bored.  The Hobbit, in contrast, was written to be a children’s novel and is quite funny.  Bilbo is an interesting and relatable hero who makes you laugh at times by, yes, forgetting his handkerchief and catching head colds.  At times I felt like the movie dragged in places it shouldn’t (the stone giants) and at other times the dramatic looks between characters were over the top.  There are a lot of flashbacks, to the point that I felt like I was watching that awful TV show The Revolution (yes, I actually watched the first few episodes of that) and it caused the movie to drag even more.  Even the battle scenes are long…and I loved the battle scenes in Lord of the Rings.  I just wanted to shout to PJ, “Stop making this longer than it needs to be!”

Radagast is also portrayed very differently from the book, making him out to be a kooky, hippy, shroom-loving wizard.  Why?  Not needed.

radagast the brown

This movie was so full of fluff and filler material, that I don’t think it needs to be made into three movies.  Even with all the history he is adding into it, maybe two or two and a half movies?  At most.  I just felt like I often had thoughts of: “We’re only here in the book?  Shouldn’t we be further along?”  To me, that means the movie is too long.

Overall, I found the movie was enjoyable and lighter hearted than Lord of the Rings.  I heard complaints about that, but honestly – the book is more fun too.  I hope people kept that in mind when watching the movie and didn’t go in expecting a Lord of the RingsThe Hobbit is not Lord of the Rings; it’s a book written for children, not adults.  Perhaps I should keep that in mind too?

Hobbit and dwarves

Use Your Comlink...

